Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Psyar
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe!!!!! Since all ovens are different, mine required to add 15 more minutes to the total time suggested on the original recipe! Came out perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Wow!!! This was amazing. I cut the recipe in half and added 2 1/2 tbsp of vanilla extract. Can't wait to let everyone try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
So easy to make! I used a bundt pan, added two tablespoon of vanilla and let cook for 1hr 45min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Sorry, but I really have to question the one-star reviews; maybe they were just expecting something different? Because honestly, I think you'd have to try to mess up this recipe. I actually only made this cake so that I could take pictures of it for a project, so I wasn't terribly invested in the end product- in fact, I only chose pound cake because it required the fewest ingredients and, therefore, no grocery run. I cut the recipe down to one third, I rounded measurements, and my rarely-used loaf pan turned out to be bigger than I thought, so I ended up with an odd, flat loaf. My butter and eggs were cold, and I probably could have beaten everything a litte more thoroughly. The point? This cake is STILL pretty darn good. Would I bring it to a party? Probably not, but it won't last long around my husband and me. And considering how I tortured it, imagine how good it would be done right. For what it's worth, I did add a tablespoon of vanilla, and took it out after 40 minutes because my single, squashed little loaf was looking a bit brown around the edges - probably would've been perfect at around 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious!! I only added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract, changed the recipe to 15 servings and baked it in a loaf pan for 75 minutes. It was so good! Next time I will add 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Lovely cake. For those who thought it was fluffy for a pound cake, try omitting the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
OMG! Light, fluffy and delicious. I added a tablespoon of vanilla and made a loaf and 6 mini bundts. Definitely a keeper and going to try different flavors i.e. lemon, orange, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I love this recipe, but I change it a little bit from the original! I use 3 cups of cake flour instead of regular flour, cut the milk and use heavy whipping cream instead w/ just a 2 teaspoon of vanilla or lemon! You can play w/ the recipe and it will come out real good. Love it make it all the time now thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Have not eaten the cake yet but the aroma is drifting through the house,I loved the recipe as it's really simple and I can serve it with any thing like icecream and cut fruits or by itself wih hot tea,I bake constantly so will be making this recipe several times over,I did add 1tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp salt. Made this recipe again today,it is delicious. Will be sharing this recipe with several friends and family.thank you for this delicious recipe It's June 13 and I bake this recipe for a lot of occasions,every single time it's a hit.thank you for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is my new go to pound cake recipe, perfect texture and great flavor. I use it for strawberry shortcake. Also I usually freeze the second loaf and it turns out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States