Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I did not have much luck with this recipe and I made sure to mix the butter and sugar a lot and in between each egg. Mine turned out dense. I only cooked for 50 minutes and maybe could have cooked less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Perfect!! I made this for new Year's Eve to Dip in Chocolate Fondue. I saw this recipe made 3 loafs. I didn't need that many for 8 of us for Fondue, so I decided to cut this recipe in thirds....so I only made 1 loaf. Boy, I should have made the 3....it was way better then store bought SaraLee Pound cake. Next time I will make the 3 loaves and freeze the. Can't wait for strawberry season to make more for Shortcake! It's even very tasty by itself....with a cup of coffee in them morning!! You won't be disappointed! ENJOY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saukville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe is so delicious & very easy to make. I even added about 1TBsp of Vanilla Extract to this recipe. I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Even with the tooth pick coming out clean, it was under baked when cut into. It tastes fine (though not like pound cake which I'm usually a fan of) but is structurally a mess. It's the first thing that hasn't come out good in maybe a dozen years or more. It has the exact structural issue as the first cake I ever baked without supervision (6th grade maybe?) Again, the mess up is probably my fault, but then again, it's not easy baking a new recipe while making dinner and holding my baby all at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I was looking for a great pound cake recipe and came across this recipe it is fabulous! My client loved it so much that she has ordered another one for Christmas! Thanks to the person who submitted this recipe. Even after overcooking the first one and burning the top part it was still fabulous. 12/23/14! I just made this cake again for the same customer, this time, I used lemon extract! OMG it was better than the first. This will be my favorite pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamikka Claybrook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added about a tsp bourbon vanilla and dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grandma GG
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Oh this is the best cake! Perfect for gift giving too. I added a few things to make it original. I added 1 tsp salt, 1 Tblsp lemon extract, 2 Tblsp vanilla extract, & 1 tsp coconut extract. If I had almond extract on hand I would have added 1 tsp almond extract. BAKING change too. Grease Bundy pan with Crisco butter & flour lightly. Set Oven temp 325 degrees bake cake for 90 minutes(1&1/2 hrs.) To not burn cake & soon as it cones out the oven place serving plate on top of bundt pan & flip it as it slides right out of cake. Easy cleanup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I love this - and use it all the time. It is especially great for a fondant covered cake because it is nice and dense, and tastes great after freezing and thawing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Scaled it down for 10 servings, but still delicious! Great texture, moist, and soft with a nice outter crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This cake was a complete failure. I followed the other reviewers suggestions. It was very bland, no sweetness to it at all.this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States