Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Excellent! Exactly what I would expect from pound cake. I will add vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We enjoyed this classic cake! Just the recipe I was looking for. I added 1 Tbsp of vanilla extract and it turned out wonderful. I was planning on freezing a couple of the loaves but I don't think we will have a need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Simple and tasty! Added a little vanilla extract, scaled recipe down to make one cake. Baking in square pan in convection oven only took 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Was an excellent pound cake for our Memorial Day picnic this year. It paired well with a lemon pie filling... The sweet and sour complimented one another. Will definitely make it again, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I increased the batter amount to 1 1/2 times the ingredients to make a 16 x 16 sheet cake. WOW! This turned out amazing. FYI - I added 1 TBS of vanilla and 1 cup of heavy whipping cream instead of milk as suggested by another. I will be making a 2 layer 16 x 16 graduation cake this weekend. Will let you know how it turns and will post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweeteelme
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
First time making this pound cake. Excellent. Will definitely recommend it. I read the reviews and did some variation. I used one cup of heavy whipping cream in place of milk. I added one teaspoon each of pure vanilla, lemon and almond extract . Baked at 325 for 10 inch tube pound cake for 50 minutes and the loaf for about 25-30 minutes. It was enough batter for both. It was so easy to make. As they recommended room temperature on your eggs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeteelme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Very delicious and easy recipe. Only change was I added lemon and vanilla extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and added a dash of honey, it was delicious with jam or jelly spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This came out great & was simple to make! I halfed the recipe which made enough for one good cake. The only mistake I made was opening the oven to check on the cake... it caved in and stopped rising, so don't be tempted. I am making it again, 4 days later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Chuansnit
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I was shocked how simple it was and it came out tasty!! I cut down the recipe to half and put it in a regular cake pan for 40 mins like how another rater did and sprayed the pan with Pam cooking spray and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chuansnit
Home Town: Muncie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States