Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and added a dash of honey, it was delicious with jam or jelly spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This came out great & was simple to make! I halfed the recipe which made enough for one good cake. The only mistake I made was opening the oven to check on the cake... it caved in and stopped rising, so don't be tempted. I am making it again, 4 days later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vampireprincess215
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I was shocked how simple it was and it came out tasty!! I cut down the recipe to half and put it in a regular cake pan for 40 mins like how another rater did and sprayed the pan with Pam cooking spray and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampireprincess215
Home Town: Muncie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday but I cut the ingredients in half because I only wanted one 9x5 loaf pan sized cake. Went together really easy and baked up nice and full but at 350 for 70 minutes it burnt around the edges. Could be the new loaf pan I used because it's a dark metal one or maybe I need to bake it at 325 instead. We haven't tasted it yet but it seemed kind of dry when I cut it in half to wrap it but I know that was because it was over baked. Anyway next time I'll try turning the oven down to 325 and just watching and testing until it's fully baked so I don't burn the edges again. I'm rating it 5 stars just because it goes together so quickly and easily and has so few ingredients. The over baking was my own fault since I was using a new pan and halving the recipe and then not watching it close enough. We're going to use it for strawberry shortcake so I'm sure the juice from the berries and whipped cream will make it more than edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I added 1-1/2 tsp. of pure vanilla extract to the recipe. The cake was delicious - wonderful texture and moist. I used this recipe to make an Easter lamb cake for our 9 grandchildren and the recipe was enough to fill the lamb mold plus a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this on a whim, and made it exactly as written. (I have a tendency to over-research recipes sometimes, ha ha.) It turned out beautifully, and the smell of the butter was irresistible! My husband grilled it and we served it with some strawberry sauce from Chef John's website. I have made a lot of desserts, but this got the most enthusiastic response of anything I've made. Getting back to basics is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a great pound cake recipe!!! You have to remember, since there is no leavening in a traditional pound cake, YOU (the baker) have to provide the leavening by creaming the ingredients appropriately and beating each egg in one by one. Doing this incorporates air into the batter, which is what helps the eggs to their job in leavening. Cream the butter and sugar for a minimum of 5 minutes, if not longer. It should increase in volume and turn white and fluffy, looking a lot like whipped heavy cream. Beat each egg in for about a minute before adding another egg (yes, watch the clock...a minute can be longer than you think!). I added a dash of salt because I didn't use salted butter (there is a dairy allergy in the house so I used shortening instead of butter), added a Tbsp of vanilla extract, and I used rice milk in place of dairy milk (again, the dairy allergy thing). Perfect!!! Good, old fashioned pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made it twice so far. Very easy and good. Put a sugar glaze on mine. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
wow!! so good! the only thing I changed was I put lemon zest, lemon juice, from one lemon and Vanilla, a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This cake is absolutely delicious and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States