Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Was an excellent pound cake for our Memorial Day picnic this year. It paired well with a lemon pie filling... The sweet and sour complimented one another. Will definitely make it again, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I increased the batter amount to 1 1/2 times the ingredients to make a 16 x 16 sheet cake. WOW! This turned out amazing. FYI - I added 1 TBS of vanilla and 1 cup of heavy whipping cream instead of milk as suggested by another. I will be making a 2 layer 16 x 16 graduation cake this weekend. Will let you know how it turns and will post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweeteelme
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
First time making this pound cake. Excellent. Will definitely recommend it. I read the reviews and did some variation. I used one cup of heavy whipping cream in place of milk. I added one teaspoon each of pure vanilla, lemon and almond extract . Baked at 325 for 10 inch tube pound cake for 50 minutes and the loaf for about 25-30 minutes. It was enough batter for both. It was so easy to make. As they recommended room temperature on your eggs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeteelme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Very delicious and easy recipe. Only change was I added lemon and vanilla extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and added a dash of honey, it was delicious with jam or jelly spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This came out great & was simple to make! I halfed the recipe which made enough for one good cake. The only mistake I made was opening the oven to check on the cake... it caved in and stopped rising, so don't be tempted. I am making it again, 4 days later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vampireprincess215
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I was shocked how simple it was and it came out tasty!! I cut down the recipe to half and put it in a regular cake pan for 40 mins like how another rater did and sprayed the pan with Pam cooking spray and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampireprincess215
Home Town: Muncie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday but I cut the ingredients in half because I only wanted one 9x5 loaf pan sized cake. Went together really easy and baked up nice and full but at 350 for 70 minutes it burnt around the edges. Could be the new loaf pan I used because it's a dark metal one or maybe I need to bake it at 325 instead. We haven't tasted it yet but it seemed kind of dry when I cut it in half to wrap it but I know that was because it was over baked. Anyway next time I'll try turning the oven down to 325 and just watching and testing until it's fully baked so I don't burn the edges again. I'm rating it 5 stars just because it goes together so quickly and easily and has so few ingredients. The over baking was my own fault since I was using a new pan and halving the recipe and then not watching it close enough. We're going to use it for strawberry shortcake so I'm sure the juice from the berries and whipped cream will make it more than edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I added 1-1/2 tsp. of pure vanilla extract to the recipe. The cake was delicious - wonderful texture and moist. I used this recipe to make an Easter lamb cake for our 9 grandchildren and the recipe was enough to fill the lamb mold plus a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this on a whim, and made it exactly as written. (I have a tendency to over-research recipes sometimes, ha ha.) It turned out beautifully, and the smell of the butter was irresistible! My husband grilled it and we served it with some strawberry sauce from Chef John's website. I have made a lot of desserts, but this got the most enthusiastic response of anything I've made. Getting back to basics is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States