Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Holy moly this is a good cake. I made it today for my husband's birthday. He wanted a "real" pound cake and I must say that this recipe delivered. So delicious. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and next time I'll add lemon flavoring and zest.....soooo good. Taste like what mama used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BernaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great, classic pound cake. Made for a fondue night with our friends. Excellent dipped in chocolate and the leftovers made great strawberry short cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I don't know why I'm just now reviewing this cake, it's become my staple pound cake recipe. Just great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
sooooooooooooooooooo great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
The perfect recipe - thank you for sharing! I even halved the proportions and made cup cakes with the batter (I got 24) and they turned out fabulous! I grated in the zest of a lemon for the aroma. I had to bake for 30 min...maybe 25 next time so the outside doesn't crust as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
In place of the butter, I used 50% butter and 50% cooking oil to make this cake more moist. Great recipe. This was my second time making this cake and it turned out great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This turned out AMAZINGLY!! It's so simple and easy to make, and it tastes incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very easy to make and taste great with strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a grest basic recipe. It's a bit too plain for me so I add lemon zest, vanilla, and I make a lemon glaze to go on top. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Delicious.....This was a big hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States