Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This is my Grandmother's Recipe too! I have made a few changes over the years though... I sub heavy whipping cream for the milk and add Vanilla, Butter and Almond flavored extracts! It's a beautiful cake! A hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
Very easy and it was the perfect consistancy I was looking for. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I really enjoyed this cake. The texture is great and directions are simple. I also made cupcakes, which I cooked in 30 minutes, to go along with the loaves. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I loved the taste of this cake. I divided it in half and tried to make 2 pound cakes but I didn't quite have enough batter to make 2 cakes. None the less, it turned out great and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe! I am taking two of the cakes to a bake sale and keeping one for us! I used orange extract for the flavoring as that is what I had on hand and it is wonderful! Thanks, Patricia, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Hi, Thanks for the recipe.The cake turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Fantastic! Hard to improve on such a classic, but I did add a tablespoon of vanilla extract - it turned out perfect! I made this with my four year old, and I know we'll be making this for many years to come. Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Excellent! This was delicious, and not hard to make at all! I used whipping cream instead of milk, and a little white chocolate flavored toroni syrup. I also cut this recipe down (instead of 30 servings, only 10) which was plenty! It made a loaf cake and six cupcakes, I used this for strawberry shortcake and it was delicous! I have to say I was surprised because this had a wonderful texture and flavor, I also sub. margarine for butter, since I didn't have any butter. -Betsy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETSYBADU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was delicious and exactly what I was looking for: rich, classic pound cake. I've made this cake twice in the last week. Once with a tsp of almond extract and once with a tsp of vanilla. I scaled it down to 15 servings to make one good sized loaf. Because I didn't have enough of the right ingredients on hand, I substituted half of the white sugar for brown sugar, and the unsalted butter for salted butter. Instead of using parchment paper I buttered and floured the loaf pan. Result was terrific with (or despite??) my modifications! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
really great. I added a lemon juice and confectioner's sugar icing and made 4 poundcakes in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States