Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2001
Very easy and it was the perfect consistancy I was looking for. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was delicious and exactly what I was looking for: rich, classic pound cake. I've made this cake twice in the last week. Once with a tsp of almond extract and once with a tsp of vanilla. I scaled it down to 15 servings to make one good sized loaf. Because I didn't have enough of the right ingredients on hand, I substituted half of the white sugar for brown sugar, and the unsalted butter for salted butter. Instead of using parchment paper I buttered and floured the loaf pan. Result was terrific with (or despite??) my modifications! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
really great. I added a lemon juice and confectioner's sugar icing and made 4 poundcakes in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This is my Grandmother's Recipe too! I have made a few changes over the years though... I sub heavy whipping cream for the milk and add Vanilla, Butter and Almond flavored extracts! It's a beautiful cake! A hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I really enjoyed this cake. The texture is great and directions are simple. I also made cupcakes, which I cooked in 30 minutes, to go along with the loaves. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Hi, Thanks for the recipe.The cake turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I loved the taste of this cake. I divided it in half and tried to make 2 pound cakes but I didn't quite have enough batter to make 2 cakes. None the less, it turned out great and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe! I am taking two of the cakes to a bake sale and keeping one for us! I used orange extract for the flavoring as that is what I had on hand and it is wonderful! Thanks, Patricia, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Excellent! This was delicious, and not hard to make at all! I used whipping cream instead of milk, and a little white chocolate flavored toroni syrup. I also cut this recipe down (instead of 30 servings, only 10) which was plenty! It made a loaf cake and six cupcakes, I used this for strawberry shortcake and it was delicous! I have to say I was surprised because this had a wonderful texture and flavor, I also sub. margarine for butter, since I didn't have any butter. -Betsy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETSYBADU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Fantastic! Hard to improve on such a classic, but I did add a tablespoon of vanilla extract - it turned out perfect! I made this with my four year old, and I know we'll be making this for many years to come. Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States