Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I am so happy to find a traditional pound cake recipe. Its so perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Absolutley the best. First time for reciepe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Was excited yet nervous about trying this recipe, pound cake is one of my favorites but haven't been able to have since becoming gluten sensitive. Most gluten free flour mixed just don't match up in texture to regular flour. However, have begun using "Cup4Cup" brand gluten-free flour. Reduced this recipe by half so that if it didn't work well I wouldn't have wasted the full amount of ingredients. Well that was a mistake! This recipe is absolutely outstanding. I was stunned that the flavor and texture were perfect. Honey & Sister were also amazed at how good it was. Will be making this as often as my diet will allow but will make a full recipe. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Oh my....this is so good...the only thing I added was a dry box of cheesecake pudding....it did take longer then 70 minutes, I just put a piece of foil on top when it started getting brown....my husband has been looking for a recipe just like his grandmas....he said this is it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I've made this cake twice and both times it's been the best! So dense, and full of buttery flavor. You cannot go wrong with this one, everybody will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
VERY BUTTERY. I've had real pound cakes that are sweeter. But this recipe was good. Make a sweet whip to go with it. Just keep in mind, if you don't like butter, don't bake this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
i liked it but i also need info to down size the recipe. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
As it's just hubby and I (and I only had 2 eggs), I cut this down to a "1/3 Pound Cake" (10 servings) in one loaf pan, and it turned out great! Followed the recipe exactly, but pulled out of the oven at 60 minutes, because the edges were getting pretty dark. I let it cool in the pan on the counter probably another 20 before cutting it. So fluffy but moist and beautifully dense, as I think pound cake should be. I would love to make this in bundt shape sometime, but this is definitely going to be the recipe I keep going back to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I was curious if this recipe would work as I have read both good and bad, but I can tell you it definitely does! So light, fluffy, and just yummy! I made a few changes...I only had one 8 x 8 pan so I cut the recipe in half and just made one square pan, baked at same temp for same amount of time. I also added a teaspoon of Vanilla to the batter and some chopped up pineapple bits just cause I had them and it turned out amazing!! Give it a try for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lvn5e
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this recipe with soy milk, soy margerine and spelt flour. It came out nicely moist (did not take as long to bake as expected) and crusty on the outside. I would halve the sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States