Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Only OK for the amount of work and the amount of sugar/butter you're eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this tonight for my boyfriend`s birthday. Turned out great.Instead of loaf pans, I used a bundt pan and then added a strawberry glaze over the top. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Love it! I add different extracts to mix it up. Almond is our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for. This is real pound cake. I ate almost half of it within the first 12 hours, so I won't be getting on a scale anytime soon. The only changes I made where adding 2 tsp vanilla and used heavy cream instead of milk. I also baked it in a 10 inch bundt pan, which was a little to small and a little of the batter ended up on the bottom of the oven. It took about 7 0 minutes to bake. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENISE13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was really good! I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I mixed the butter and sugar for 10 min. until it turned creamy and white just like others recommended. I made strawberry shortcake with it by topping it with sliced strawberries mixed with sugar and homemade whipped cream. I got compliments from all my dinner guests on the crispy outside of the pound cake. They especially loved that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I am so happy to find a traditional pound cake recipe. Its so perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Absolutley the best. First time for reciepe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Was excited yet nervous about trying this recipe, pound cake is one of my favorites but haven't been able to have since becoming gluten sensitive. Most gluten free flour mixed just don't match up in texture to regular flour. However, have begun using "Cup4Cup" brand gluten-free flour. Reduced this recipe by half so that if it didn't work well I wouldn't have wasted the full amount of ingredients. Well that was a mistake! This recipe is absolutely outstanding. I was stunned that the flavor and texture were perfect. Honey & Sister were also amazed at how good it was. Will be making this as often as my diet will allow but will make a full recipe. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Oh my....this is so good...the only thing I added was a dry box of cheesecake pudding....it did take longer then 70 minutes, I just put a piece of foil on top when it started getting brown....my husband has been looking for a recipe just like his grandmas....he said this is it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I've made this cake twice and both times it's been the best! So dense, and full of buttery flavor. You cannot go wrong with this one, everybody will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States