Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Lovely cake. For those who thought it was fluffy for a pound cake, try omitting the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
OMG! Light, fluffy and delicious. I added a tablespoon of vanilla and made a loaf and 6 mini bundts. Definitely a keeper and going to try different flavors i.e. lemon, orange, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I love this recipe, but I change it a little bit from the original! I use 3 cups of cake flour instead of regular flour, cut the milk and use heavy whipping cream instead w/ just a 2 teaspoon of vanilla or lemon! You can play w/ the recipe and it will come out real good. Love it make it all the time now thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Have not eaten the cake yet but the aroma is drifting through the house,I loved the recipe as it's really simple and I can serve it with any thing like icecream and cut fruits or by itself wih hot tea,I bake constantly so will be making this recipe several times over,I did add 1tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp salt. Made this recipe again today,it is delicious. Will be sharing this recipe with several friends and family.thank you for this delicious recipe It's June 13 and I bake this recipe for a lot of occasions,every single time it's a hit.thank you for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is my new go to pound cake recipe, perfect texture and great flavor. I use it for strawberry shortcake. Also I usually freeze the second loaf and it turns out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Only OK for the amount of work and the amount of sugar/butter you're eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this tonight for my boyfriend`s birthday. Turned out great.Instead of loaf pans, I used a bundt pan and then added a strawberry glaze over the top. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Love it! I add different extracts to mix it up. Almond is our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for. This is real pound cake. I ate almost half of it within the first 12 hours, so I won't be getting on a scale anytime soon. The only changes I made where adding 2 tsp vanilla and used heavy cream instead of milk. I also baked it in a 10 inch bundt pan, which was a little to small and a little of the batter ended up on the bottom of the oven. It took about 7 0 minutes to bake. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENISE13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was really good! I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I mixed the butter and sugar for 10 min. until it turned creamy and white just like others recommended. I made strawberry shortcake with it by topping it with sliced strawberries mixed with sugar and homemade whipped cream. I got compliments from all my dinner guests on the crispy outside of the pound cake. They especially loved that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States