Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I really liked this cake, and I will use it again. It did form a crust from all of the sugar though. Like a tough outer crust, top and bottom. I will try reducing the bake time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I was hesitant to rate this with 4 stars, because the end result is so delicious. The flavors are on point. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of butter extract as the previous comment suggested. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 however, because it baked so unevenly, the inside was more like gooey butter cake than pound cake while outside edges got pretty crispy and I had to kind of pry it out of the pan...this could have definitely been due to operator error but I did follow the directions to the T, so I'm not sure what happened. Give this recipe a try - it's quick, easy and delicious, despite the issues I had with baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erae84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This pound cake is delicious. I added some vanilla for flavor. My only gripe was that the cooking time was (for me) a little too long. I like my pound cake non crispy on the outside and 70 minutes cooking time made it crispy. Everybody else loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Perfect pound cake. Was really easy to make and turned out just as expected - very dense but not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Super tasty! Not too sweet, just right. I added about 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract. Definitely would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is a very easy recipe for pound cake and turned out great. If I wanted it to be larger, would perhaps change amounts to 20 servings and bake in 1 loaf pan, cake was a little small. I added about 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract, other than that no changes! I will probably make this again. Planning on serving as an easter desert with jello and fresh fruit and whipping cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Tasty, authentic flavor, almost pasty. Good dipped in chocolate fondue with some lemon zest and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Love this recipe as is.........only I needed to bake it for 90 minutes for it to cook entirely through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADOF7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made the cake with honey instead of sugar and add vanilla and lemon juice to give it a little extra something special :) and I baked about 50min at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was so good that I didn't want to share :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy M Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States