Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Shamefully delicious served warm from the oven! I did add vanilla and a pinch of salt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is definitely true pound cake. Came out nice and dense, and perfectly browned. My oven always seems to take longer on baking, so I baked mine for about 1 1/4 hours. I also followed the reviews and added 1 1/2 tsp of powdered vanilla. (I could have added more, it would have taken it nicely). I mixed the butter and sugar for a loooong time in the food processor ( I don't have a hand mixer) until it was super smooth, then made sure not to overmix when adding the eggs, and finally, I poured everything into a mixing bowl and used a hand whisk to add the flour and milk. I think it made a world of difference in the texture, so for those who are having texture problems, try it. The key is to not incorporate too much air after adding the eggs. Thanks for such an authentic recipe :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I do not know why someone would give this 1 star, especially because it was too much butter. Do they know what a pound cake is? This was amazing. I have to say that I only had 3 eggs in the house so I halfed the recipe and put it all in a 9 x 5.5 bread pan, turned th temp. to 325 and added an extra 5 mins. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
It was easy to make and baked nice. It just tasted surprising like sweet bread! My husband did not like it he said it reminded him of jiffy corn bread! I dunno but it was very easy to make and did look pretty. just not the taste I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
this cake is wonderful and super moist. my friends and family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I would give this cake 10 stars! Wow! I have never made pound cake before, but wanted to try it. I won't ever search for another recipe. The only change I made was adding 2 teaspoons of vanilla. It was the best pound cake I have ever had (don't tell my mom!). Since it makes 3 loaves, next time I will try to add some small chocolate chips to one, as I think that would be good too. Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe! This is definitely one of my new favorites on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I took the following suggestions from the invaluable reviews: 1. Add a tablespoon of vanilla. 2. Replace 1 cup of white sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar. 3. Beat the butter and sugar for 5 minutes, and then for another minute as each egg is added. I also beat for a minute after adding the vanilla (which I do after the eggs). Result: A gorgeous, dense, flavorful, buttery cake with a crisp brown crust. For those who like Sara Lee pound cake (and I do) this creates a very similar flavor. Fantastic cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very yummy pound cake! I did not have the loaf pans on hand so I used a bundt pan and it turned out great. I halfed the recipe and wish I would have made it for 20 servings instead....It would have made for more cake :) I baked for 40 min at 350 and came out perfect. I also added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Thanks for a great recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is absolutely THE BEST!!!! Its the first pound cake recipe I've ever tried, but it is SO AWESOME that I see no need in trying any other one out there!!! I've made this 2 or 3 times now. I always just make as is & its always a HUGE hit!! This is THE BOMB!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ozark Acres, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
awesome! easy to half, and oh the wonders of what I could do with it! I added vanilla, next time ill add a bit more with a hint of almond flavor! try it with this frosting: 2 sticks butter-whip well 4 cups sifted powered sugar 3/4 cup cocoa powder 4tbsp milk the kep is to get your handmixer and whip and whip and whip, adding just enough milk to get it perfect for you taste, though you will need at least 2 of the tablespoons of milk. can adjust the cocoa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States