Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Fantastic! I made it as is and made it with lemon and a little salt. Both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My daughter was hounding me to make pound cake and adored this cake. Made 3 full-size bread pans, which was perfect to freeze so she can have later. Followed recipe exactly, only added a little vanilla. Key is to whip butter and sugar for at least 5 minutes at high speed. Looked beautiful and golden brown, very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This tasted really good but it was very crumbly when I cut it. Followed recipe exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
very good and moist! i'm a beginner baker and it was very simple and better yet I actually had all of the ingredients :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kl23453

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Best Pound Cake recipe I have every used. I will be keeping this recipe and I'm sure I will bake many, many times. I add 2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of almond extract. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sblount63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pevely, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
YUM!! I made this exactly as directed, adding just a tsp vanilla. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I couldn't give this recpe a full 5 stars because I didn't follow the measurements, but rather the author's note about using a pound of evrything. I go my kitchen scale out & weighed 1 pound of eggs (which ended up being 8 or 9 eggs), a pound of buter, flour & sugar. But nonetheless, my cakes turned out AMAZING... so glad I got rid of most of it or I woula eaten it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Awesome! I cut the recipe in half and added a half tsp of vanilla extract. I used 3 - 5x3 loaf pans and baked for 35-40 min and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awsunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sll474

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I had trouble with this recipe, the center fell :( but the outside tasted delicious! I'll make it better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaredsgirl26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States