Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Having never made pound cake before I pretty much impressed myself! I did cut the recipe in half but next time I'll plan to go ahead and make the 3 loaves! Only change I made was to grease and flour my loaf pan and did not use parchment paper. The loaf fell out easily once I ran a knife around it and let it sit for a little bit. Surprised at how moist it was. Will HAVE to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this pound cake in a bundt pan, used swans down flour cake, sifted twice. Great moist cake. I have baked it twice and I have rave reviews each time. Such an easy cake to make. I turn my nose up at store bought pound cakes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Wow, amazing pound cake! We used fresh sliced strawberries with it and it was delicious. The nice thing is you have all the ingredients already and don't have to run to the store! I did add a Tbl of vanilla and did not use parchment paper (just greased and floured pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious and easy. I just wanted a "snack" so I just used 1/3 of the recipe. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I halved the recipe and made only 1 loaf. It turned out perfectly for our strawberry shortcake dessert! I may have over mixed it a little - next time I'll mix by hand as others suggested. This was just the buttery, sugary treat we were looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I made this pound cake as a trial run for a for a two tier cake project I am making in school. I added orange zest and some of the juice from the orange.I also baked them in a six and ten inch cake pans at 350 for 45 minutes. Wow they turned out amazing! They are dense enough to be stacked but still light enough to be enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Made this today was wonderful made one huge loaf 4 mini loafs and 6 muffins since all I had was 1 big loaf pan.....didnt change a thing about the recipe!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This recipe came out great! i made it for my mom's birthday and she and the family loved it. Its a little sweet for my taste so next time i may cut out some of the sugar but overall i liked it. I also made a few changes like substituting milk for buttermilk and added both vanilla and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was wonderful! I've been looking for a pound cake recipe and was delighted to find this one. After readings the reviews, which I always find helpful, I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, but may try almond extract next time. Can't wait to try it with berries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connies Cocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This cake is YUMMY! I did add 2 tsp of vanilla extract as others have suggested. Each oven is different because my cake cooked in 45 minutes on 350. This is my second time making a pound cake from this site and this one is by far my favorite. I only modified the number of eggs because I used 5 instead of 6. I dont like eggy cakes. That is the only change I made.This cake is not overly sweet and I am thinking about putting a glaze on it but it is not necessary. So glad to have this recipe. Next time, I will make this recipe for cupcakes or even a sheet cake. This is my new go-to cake recipes. Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States