Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
An almost perfect recipe. It turned out great just as written. Base cake is a little bland for my taste, though that's the nature of the beast. Next time, I'll add a little vanilla, salt, and cinnamon... maybe blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
delicious and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Wonderful!!!! Makes alot! Only things I changed was adding vanilla extract, only used 3 sticks of butter and the containers I baked it in. It made 2 9x5 loaf pans, and two trays of mini muffins and added chocolate chips(which my kids LOVED to snatch!) The mini muffins baked less then 20 min. and my loaf pans were only about 50 min. I took the 9x5 loaf pans and cut them into bites sized cubes, layered with vanilla pudding and strawberries and it made a wonderful dessert! Passed the recipe on and got rave reviews all around! Someone even baked with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
AMAZING CAKE! I added 1.5 tbsp of Vanilla for my Hubbys birthday cake, filled it with whipped cream and it is absolutly amazing! will be making it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Easy to make, yields a large amount good for parties! :] Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Apparently some folks don't know what a pound cake is, and this is it. It's exactly what my grandmother's was like and it's fabulous. Watch the cook time right at the end. The edges may burn quickly at the end. I'm so glad to find a real pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I thought it was great -- I used vanilla & almond extract -- The 1 start people may have over mixed it once the dry stuff is added. Rubber consistancy when baking is usually over mixing!! Pound cake is made with 1 lb of butter/sugar/flour -- that's how its name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferMarks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I reduced this recipe for 10 servings and found it a bit small but terriffic. I added 1 tsp of vanilla, just right. One of the best pound cakes I have ever made. I would add 1 TBSP of vanilla to the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! My family members all loved it! I did add in a tablespoon of vanilla into the batter but otherwise I left it exactly the same. I managed to make to make 1 loaf, 12 cupcakes and a square sheet cake with this one recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I added 3 cups of raisins to this and it is the best I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savanahsirval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States