Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very simple, not too sweet and not too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgrims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Perfect! I looked at over 30 pound cake recipes, but being a purist, chose this- so glad I did. Lovely crumb, texture and flavor spot on. I halved the recipe (no room in freezer after huge meat sale) and baked it in a bundt pan- it came out perfectly. Do cream the living daylights out of the butter and sugar, and beat for 2 minutes after adding each room temperature egg. Next time I'll experiment with different additions (vanilla, lemon, etc.) but my family LOVED it. Served it with strawberries and whipped heavy cream- Yumm-o. Not only are the possible additions endless, ways to serve, also. Chocolate, fruit, frostings...thanks for the quintessential pound cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
The quintessential pound cake. Couldn't be easier and has turned out perfect every time I've made it. Very moist and dense with a pleasingly sweet and slightly crunchy "crust." Pound cake is my husband's favorite. His grandmother always made it for him on his birthday. He confided recently that this is even better than his grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Fantastic! I made it as is and made it with lemon and a little salt. Both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My daughter was hounding me to make pound cake and adored this cake. Made 3 full-size bread pans, which was perfect to freeze so she can have later. Followed recipe exactly, only added a little vanilla. Key is to whip butter and sugar for at least 5 minutes at high speed. Looked beautiful and golden brown, very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This tasted really good but it was very crumbly when I cut it. Followed recipe exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
very good and moist! i'm a beginner baker and it was very simple and better yet I actually had all of the ingredients :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kl23453

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Best Pound Cake recipe I have every used. I will be keeping this recipe and I'm sure I will bake many, many times. I add 2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of almond extract. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sblount63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pevely, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
YUM!! I made this exactly as directed, adding just a tsp vanilla. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States