Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My husband loves this pound cake! Best both of us ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
THE BEST pound cake I've ever had!!!!! Wow! I did add vanilla, and reduced baking time to 325, since I was using a dark bundt pan. Buttered the pan, then coated with sugar, so it made the crust divine. Increased the cooking time to 1hr25min since I had reduced temp. It is dense, moist and has an amazing flavor. LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very easy to do right if you have a mixer. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Excellent! I think the key to getting a cake with great texture is to make sure that ALL of your ingredients are at room temp before you start. Pre-measure your milk, take your eggs and butter out (it helps to cut your butter up into small cubes before you use your mixer), but yes, take everything out at least 30 mins before you start. Also, be sure to beat at a medium-high speed, rather than a low speed. The batter should be super smooth (no lumps) when you're all done. And it's a bit thicker than regular cake batter too- sorta like frosting at room temp, or maybe just a hair softer. I thought that I had over mixed mine, it was incredibly light and fluffy, but it came out PERFECT and I mixed for a long time in between eggs and milk/flour. I don't think I'll have to worry about over mixing next time. The only modification I made to the recipe was that I added 2tsp of PURE vanilla extract and 2 tsp of almond extract. I could have gotten away with just one of each, or even none at all, it's a tad sweet, but still yummy as ever. Great recipe! It took awhile to find a classic pound cake recipe- I am very pleased:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterflow, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
love this recipe! it was easy delicious and just what i was looking for in a pound cake. Made it in a bundt pan and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
LOVE this easy & basic recipe! It's great the way it is, but I have also used Self Rising flour when I didn't have AP Flour: still good. I have put a fruit and syrup mixture in the bottom of the pan before pouring the batter in- for upside down cake. I have baked the whole recipe in a half sheet pan, then decorated it for birthdays. The best and easiest cake recipe I've ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Rose up for 10 min. Then fell flat to the bottom. I live in a 5000 ft elevation. Could be the reason but how can i adapt for uphere?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
A very traditional and true recipe for pound cake. Nothing wrong with the recipe I just didn't like it as much as I like other poundcakes. I thought it was a little too sweet and the bottom and sides had a thick browned crust that isn't as good as the top or middle. This type of cake is better the next day when the ingredients have time to mellow into one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Best and easiest pound cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was SOOOOOO easy to make! I cut the recipe in half (just me and my 3 yr old son)...I pulled the ingredients out as soon as I walked in the door after work. About half an hour later, I mixed the ingredients together and baked 2 small loaves. It turned out perfect! Moist and compact...just like it should be! I did make an adjustment...I wanted mine for strawberries, so I made a vanilla key-lime pound cake...this is going in my recipe box at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States