Grandmother's Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
So disappointed. Great taste but I made 4 cakes, different sizes, convection and regular bake and there is no way these were suitable for wedding cakes. Cracked tops, fallen middle, raw looking insides. Went back to a tried and true and wish I hadn't wasted my time with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Well, I did not have any butter flavored extract, but I had a brandy flavored one I used instead. Also, I followed another reviewer's advice by adding a liquor instead of water, and what I had was a caramel one. I also made a sauce to drizzle on top after it baked. It was 1/2 c. of butter, 1 c. sugar boiled together, then I added 1/4 tsp. of the brandy flavored extract to 3/4 c. of the carmel liquor and dumped that in to simmer for about 5 minutes or so. (Got that idea, of poking the cake, pouring on the sauce and returning the cake to its pan for 20 minutes before inverting it again, from another recipe on here.) It reminds of a pound cake, but sort of like a glazed maple donut you get from the bakery. My husband said it reminds him of butterscotch candy this way. I will definitely be experimenting with this wonderful base recipe for yellow cake mix. It came out wonderfully moist and seems easy to transport with that glaze, too. Thank you for posting this, Tina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
NOT good. Too oily, boxed makes it taste awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for such a long time. My mother use to make this exact recipe, but I was never sure how she did it. I have one of her poundcake tins, and I wanted this recipe to make use of it once again.! I love the denseness, yet spongyness of the cake. It is wonderful warm, or cold. I used lemon extract and vanilla extract (what I had around). My mother used these extracts as well. They give it a fresh, clean, and bright taste. I used butter to grease the pans. I light crust forms which keeps the cake moist for days... so thank you for this recipe. Something I will use, over, and over again ! So easy to make too !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZEinNY03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is a GREAT alternative to the heavy pound cakes. Of course it is not going to be as dense as a traditional pound cake becasue you are not putting in as many eggs and butter, but it has great flavor and texture. I used a lemon cake mix and melted butter instead of oil, removed the butter flavoring and used lemon extract. It was baked in a bunt pan and I poked holes in it after it was cooled and placed a lemon glaze on the top. I have already been asked to make another one within the next 2 weeks for a birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t.rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
very tasty, moist and not too dense. Will use regularly. Added chocolate mini chips. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is addicting once it's finished. Can't keep it around! I've made it with both the yellow cake recipe and also w/chocolate for a twist. Both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Did not care for this at all. Wish I'd paid more attention to the negative reviews, but I was almost out of eggs, and this one only needed 4, so I figured I'd give it a shot. It was really greasy (not buttery or moist), not very flavorful (in spite of adding extra vanilla and butter extract after tasting the batter), and the texture wasn't very good. It was not moist, dense, or tender as a pound cake should be. Would have given it just one star, but it didn't taste BAD, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
When prepared as written...not *quite* dense enough to be a pound cake that would be suitable for heavy-duty carving and such, but great to stack as a wedding cake. Be sure to refrigerate overnight before decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Ichiban
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I used a butter cake mix and did not use the butter extract. This comes out much heavier than a regular cake and has good flavor but not really a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States