Grandmother's Old Fashioned Butter Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've been looking for this recipe for years. My Aunt Bee use to make it. This is it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanni29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
It is the bomb just the way I saw my grandmother make it 45 yrs ago. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and I had to come on here and bring some light to the recipe. First if you use carnation milk it will be a thicker sauce and make enough to pour over once you start serving. Now with the roll, you need to make the dough, roll it out and layer it with sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon and pieces of unsalted butter over the entire roll. You should be able to make 2 rolls with this recipe. Once you layer it then roll it up. Cut it in small rolls from this and put it in a baking sheet. Bake the rolls for 30 min by them self until its golden brown, then 15 more min with half of the cream sauce poured over it. This will prevent it from being mushy and you will be able to have a light flaky crust with a semi moist center. AGAIN save additional sauce for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I have been reading the comments and pondering whether to use this recipe as the basis for an attempt to recreate what I remember as one of the most delicious and favorite dessert memories to come out of my late grandma's kitchen. It was, no doubt, one of the most requested items in our family. My grandma told me she recalled watching her mother make it when she was growing up in the hills of Kentucky in the 1920's. It was a childhood favorite of hers. There was no recipe, of course. Like most old country recipes, it was all by look, feel and generations of intuition. She has been gone for over three years now, and I would love to serve this to my dad on his birthday, as there are just so many memories attached to this in our family. I remember that she did not roll it up into a jelly roll shape. Hers were individual longer pieces folded over in the middle and spread out on a baking pan. She would spread butter, sugar and cinnamon and bake until they were nice and brown. I don't recall her pouring any liquid over it when it cooked. The sauce was served warm, on the side, in a big glass pitcher. So many of the comments I read on this recipe are coming from people like me, who are trying to reach back in time a pull out a very cherished memory. It is always amazing to me how much of a connection there is to food and some of our fondest memories. It can be a powerful and emotional link to our past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oregonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I am officially in a food coma! My mother in law said she made it and so I decided to see what was all the fuss about. I'm glad I did :D I made it twice; once as written and once with evaporated milk. The evaporated milk is better...It lends a caramel rich taste. This is real.home.cooking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Thanks for the recipe, my grandmother used to make butter roll for my mom when she was little. Mom got to talking about that delicious butter roll one day when she was missing her mom, said she still remembered how good it tasted. I surprised her with this version, only I did it like her mom did - not cut into rolls but made longer and skinnier, rolled up, then placed whole in the pan, starting in the middle and going in a circle till all in. Since most of the milk sauce is absorbed and we like things saucy, I made an additional sauce with a can of tart cherries and the liquid, sugar and water, little lemon juice, thickened with cornstarch and stirred in a little butter when done, served on the side. Mom just ate hers plain as she remembered and loved it. Thanks again for helping give my mom a taste of her childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is a recipe that my grandmother used to make us after much begging and pleading...we knew she would fix them much to our delight. I've not tried this recipe but I do remember that she poured her milk mixture over the rolls when they were about done. Looking forward to trying this with my tweak on adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I haven't tried making the rolls from scratch.. however my mother got the recipe from a friend in the 1960s and made it with store bought crescent rolls... butter and sugar inside triangles roll loosely..then bake the rolls, about 5 minutes before done she poured the milk over the rolls and baked the last 5 min. .delicious... brings back memories..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay-Otic
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made these for my family, and although they look good... we didn't get much out of them. We didn't like the milk mixture poured over it, and my dad thought they were a little "blah". Although I have to admit. After a couple of days of them sitting in the fridge, they tasted better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa B.
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
it was easy and quick! i had more milk mixture left over because i don't think my pan was the right size. anyhoo, it tastes good! my husband didn't think it was "done". it reminds me of the inside of a fruit cobbler minus the fruit. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States