Grandmother's Old Fashioned Butter Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
I have also been looking for this receipe for years. My great-grandmother use to make Butter Roll. When she past away no one had the reciepe. I've asked several people and no one seem to have heard of Butter Roll. Thank You so much. I cant wait to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
this recipe is great. My mother used to fix this when I was a little girl and this tasted just the same. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
My mother and I have been looking for this recipe for years an we have found it. It taste just like my Grandmothers-(She never gave us the recipe). Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Growing up in MS I had the luxury of both eating this recipe and witnessing the cooking methods of many-an-ole white woman....Different people would use slightly different approaches--NEVER read from a recipe mind you--techniques taught to them as kids and passed on. For those that have problems with this one: pretend you are making a thick cobbler pie/with no fruit. Between each layer of dough-add a splash of the milk sauce. Cover the entire top with dough, and keep this "top" moist while cooking by spreading milk sauce over it every few minutes. Hope this helps out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
When I was a little girl my grandmother would make butter rolls every Sunday before church. After church we would my family would look forward to after dinner for our butter roll delight. This recipe is very similar to what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. I was raised by my grandmother, and she used to make the best butter rolls. She is no longer here to give me the recipe, and this is just like she used to make! She would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe, my grandmother use to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I've made these rolls many times now, and I just love them. If you're looking for something like cinnamon rolls, these are not it, they have a flaky biscuit-like texture. I have another recipe very similar to this that calls for vegetable oil instead of shortening, which works very well if you don't want to take the time to cut in the shortening. These are good with or without the milk being poured on before baking. You can pour a little milk or cream on each individual serving after they've baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Had been searching and searching and found this on the site a few years ago. For those who know, this is it! My mother, (the expert), added a bit more milk, and as an occasional variation, canned peaches and a bit of brown sugar! Gives it a creamy peach cobbler type appeal. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States