Grandmother's Old Fashioned Butter Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I had to do some tweaking with this recipe, but it's the closest I'd found to what my grandmother used to make. It took 3 tries to get it, but it was worth it. I reduced the water and butter to 1/4 C. Otherwise the roll is too mushy. I also cooked the roll til brown, about 45 minutes, then removed to another cake pan. I cooked the milk sauce until thickened and then poured it over the roll.. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
My mother and I have been looking for this recipe for years an we have found it. It taste just like my Grandmothers-(She never gave us the recipe). Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
I have also been looking for this receipe for years. My great-grandmother use to make Butter Roll. When she past away no one had the reciepe. I've asked several people and no one seem to have heard of Butter Roll. Thank You so much. I cant wait to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Growing up in MS I had the luxury of both eating this recipe and witnessing the cooking methods of many-an-ole white woman....Different people would use slightly different approaches--NEVER read from a recipe mind you--techniques taught to them as kids and passed on. For those that have problems with this one: pretend you are making a thick cobbler pie/with no fruit. Between each layer of dough-add a splash of the milk sauce. Cover the entire top with dough, and keep this "top" moist while cooking by spreading milk sauce over it every few minutes. Hope this helps out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Good basic start, which means that one can "customize". Use brown sugar and evaporated milk; instead of milk and white sugar this makes a caramel sauce. Umm! Use a raisins, pecans or granola with a sprinkle of cinnamon on the flat dough before you roll it up. In the milk sauce use a teaspoon of vanilla.... Lord have mercy! All of which I have tried with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
No taste what-so-ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
these turned out yucky!!! They were like a doughy, sweet, milky mess. I hate that I wasted my time and ingredients on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My aunt has been making butter rolls for years. This summer she finally made another. I stood by and wrote down everything she did. This idoes not turn out like hers. She adds baking powder so they rise and are very fluffy. She also adds cinnamon along with the nutmeg , doesn't heat the milk (whole milk) and we cut the butter into small slices and layed on the dough instead of spreading it over the dough. Try this and I think you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
When I was a little girl my grandmother would make butter rolls every Sunday before church. After church we would my family would look forward to after dinner for our butter roll delight. This recipe is very similar to what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States