Grandmother's Old Fashioned Butter Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
After more than an hour in the oven the centers were still not quite done leaving a sugary sauce/biscuit soup. Some of the sauce bubbled over even though I used the right size pan. Not a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
No taste what-so-ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
My mother and I have been looking for this recipe for years an we have found it. It taste just like my Grandmothers-(She never gave us the recipe). Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
I have also been looking for this receipe for years. My great-grandmother use to make Butter Roll. When she past away no one had the reciepe. I've asked several people and no one seem to have heard of Butter Roll. Thank You so much. I cant wait to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
these turned out yucky!!! They were like a doughy, sweet, milky mess. I hate that I wasted my time and ingredients on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Growing up in MS I had the luxury of both eating this recipe and witnessing the cooking methods of many-an-ole white woman....Different people would use slightly different approaches--NEVER read from a recipe mind you--techniques taught to them as kids and passed on. For those that have problems with this one: pretend you are making a thick cobbler pie/with no fruit. Between each layer of dough-add a splash of the milk sauce. Cover the entire top with dough, and keep this "top" moist while cooking by spreading milk sauce over it every few minutes. Hope this helps out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I had to do some tweaking with this recipe, but it's the closest I'd found to what my grandmother used to make. It took 3 tries to get it, but it was worth it. I reduced the water and butter to 1/4 C. Otherwise the roll is too mushy. I also cooked the roll til brown, about 45 minutes, then removed to another cake pan. I cooked the milk sauce until thickened and then poured it over the roll.. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I've made these rolls many times now, and I just love them. If you're looking for something like cinnamon rolls, these are not it, they have a flaky biscuit-like texture. I have another recipe very similar to this that calls for vegetable oil instead of shortening, which works very well if you don't want to take the time to cut in the shortening. These are good with or without the milk being poured on before baking. You can pour a little milk or cream on each individual serving after they've baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I wasn't crazy about these rolls right out of the oven. They were much better after hardening in the fridge for about a day. Then they tasted more like a shortbread cookie. Otherwise, they were just greasy and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Beef on Weck, Part 1: Kummelweck Roll

See how to make delicious freshly baked kummelweck rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States