Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is my new go-to oatmeal cookie recipe. Oatmeal chocolate chips are my husband's favourites, so I substituted the raisins for chocolate chips but they were still super delicious! I might just have to make myself a batch with raisins so I don't have to share!! LOL Thanks for the great recipe, Happygolucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wonderful! I used Craisins (dried cranberries) and frosted half with a powdered sugar/milk ice drizzle. Yummy! My children normally do not eat oatmeal but they love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I used only a few raisins as I needed the dough for mincemeat cookies and they turned out delicious soft cookies with wonderful texture. I mixed about 1 1/2 Cup prepared mincemeat into 3/4 of the dough loosely, i.e., not mixed thoroughly. Make small balls (acorn size) of the regular dough and smash them into small thin circles to make a base, then place a small walnut-size amount of the mincemeat mixed dough on top. Bake as usual. Made without the base the mincemeat cookies were too sticky on the bottom and not cookie-like. With the base of regular dough, the mincemeat cookies were perfect. Chilling helped. Next time I will use more oatmeal, less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I used to think that I didn't even like oatmeal raisin cookies, but this recipe has changed everything. These are moist, chewy, absolutely delicious, perfect cookies. I would give them 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
None of the reviews that I read have mentioned that the process of soaking the raisins in the eggs and vanilla infuses them with the vanilla flavor that you can really taste in the cookie. Because I think this is what makes these cookies so special, I was wondering what you do if you are using chocolate chips instead of raisins? Nothing to soak...just combine the egg and vanilla for an hour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!!! I do half butter and half shortening. No need to refrigerate... I also add some baking powder.. Great tasting cookie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I have made these cookies hundreds of times. They are to die for! I never have used the "butter-flavored" shortening because I only have regular shortening so I have always just sprayed a little bit of butter flavor pam on top of the shortening during that step. Recently I tried 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour to see what difference it made. I thought they tasted just as good and could not tell the difference. Also, I usually let the raisins stand in with the vanilla and 2 beaten eggs and then add the 3rd egg during when combining the raisin/egg in the recipe. I have accidentally left the raisins/vanilla/egg mixture in the fridge for a whole day and a half, and the end result was just as fabulous. Sometimes I add a little more cinnamon than what's called for. Sometimes I roll the balls in the cinnamon/sugar when I have the time. Either way, the recipe as is is still 5 stars! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasgal_Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made it with Chocolate chips and walnuts. Simply delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breena Clarke
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Yes, this one is the best. I used to use the one on the Quaker Oats box. I tried this. My husband said, "These are the best cookies." Yes, they are. I added pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Great oatmeal cookie, made a little differently than from the recipe on the Quaker Oatmeal box (more flour, less oatmeal). I added a second teaspoon of cinnamon and also added a quarter cup of milk mixed with a quarter teaspoon of cider vinegar (and one time, a quarter cup of buttermilk) because the mixture is too dry to adhere otherwise. I made it with real unsalted butter instead of butter flavored shortening. I used an ice cream scoop to measure out the dough, flattening each with an oil-coated spatula. This made 24 large cookies--about the size you get in coffee shops. Baked them for 18 minutes. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States