Grandmother's Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I can't believe I didn't like this muffin. I fixed it exactly as written. I found them heavy and dense and rather tasteless. Personal preference is a lighter fluffier muffin. I won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Great recipe like most people I went with 2 cups of flour and 1 teaspoon of nutmeg and as a last step add 1 cup of blueberries. This is now a family favourite and have passed on recipe to friends. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe proved to be perfect. I was stranded trying to figure out what to make 3 toddlers for breakfast! LOL I ended up putting a squeeze of strawberry topping on the tops of the uncooked muffins before I put them in the oven. The topping sank to the bottom of the muffins, and was burning hot! But delicious once they were cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I used 2 cups of flour. You can add a 1/2 cup of jam to change it up. It is a great basic muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L. Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is such a perfect recipe!, muffins are so fluffy that the paper cups fall by themselves (and no, it's not this greasy sort of fluffiness from over-buttered muffins). Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicasecas
Home Town: Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I was looking for a good basic muffin recipe I could alter according to what I have on hand, and this one is perfect. I usually skip the oil and add in some applesauce, two mashed bananas, and a cup of whatever other fruit I have on hand (we've done strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and peaches). I find that with all that fruit, I can cut the amount of sugar in half. They turn out moist and delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Excellent excellent recipe,I made these for a friend had to keep two aside as they smelled delicious. I added 1/4 cup coarsely ground pistachios and a small Easter egg shaped chocolate on the too of each muffin.thank you ...will be making tons of these:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I usually don't bother to write any comments, but wow, I just wanted to thank you for sharing your recipe! It came out perfectly perfect! Crispy on top and very soft, moist and fluffy inside - can't believe I was able to do this at home! (I substituted butter to Crisco shortening and white sugar to brown suger for being health conscious.) I look forward to adding fruits, nuts and chocolate next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maikodadz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cagayan De Oro, Misamis Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I just made this recipe today. I added blueberries and a mashed very ripe banana. Very light and tasty! Made muffin tops that were perfect! I will be using this recipe from now on! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These are a good base recipe, a little bland even after adding cinnamon, raisins, zucchini, nuts, and a banana. It also made 12 HUGE muffins. Next time I'll halve the recipe and make 9 muffins out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States