Grandmother's Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I used 2 cups of flour. You can add a 1/2 cup of jam to change it up. It is a great basic muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L. Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is such a perfect recipe!, muffins are so fluffy that the paper cups fall by themselves (and no, it's not this greasy sort of fluffiness from over-buttered muffins). Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicasecas
Home Town: Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I was looking for a good basic muffin recipe I could alter according to what I have on hand, and this one is perfect. I usually skip the oil and add in some applesauce, two mashed bananas, and a cup of whatever other fruit I have on hand (we've done strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and peaches). I find that with all that fruit, I can cut the amount of sugar in half. They turn out moist and delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Excellent excellent recipe,I made these for a friend had to keep two aside as they smelled delicious. I added 1/4 cup coarsely ground pistachios and a small Easter egg shaped chocolate on the too of each muffin.thank you ...will be making tons of these:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I usually don't bother to write any comments, but wow, I just wanted to thank you for sharing your recipe! It came out perfectly perfect! Crispy on top and very soft, moist and fluffy inside - can't believe I was able to do this at home! (I substituted butter to Crisco shortening and white sugar to brown suger for being health conscious.) I look forward to adding fruits, nuts and chocolate next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maikodadz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cagayan De Oro, Misamis Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I just made this recipe today. I added blueberries and a mashed very ripe banana. Very light and tasty! Made muffin tops that were perfect! I will be using this recipe from now on! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These are a good base recipe, a little bland even after adding cinnamon, raisins, zucchini, nuts, and a banana. It also made 12 HUGE muffins. Next time I'll halve the recipe and make 9 muffins out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countrygirl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a very good basic muffin recipe. I did use 2 cups flour per others suggestions. I added pitted, halved cherries. Whenever I use cherries, I substitute almond extract for vanilla. I'm looking forward to trying this recipe with other fruits and flavors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
i added some freshly ground nutmeg, 1tsp cinnamon, 1tsp ginger powder and a chopped apple with a small bit of cranberries. I loved it! This recipe is an exellent base for muffins so that you can explore more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alia Haig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
They were ok. They were more like a cake than a muffin. My 17 year old liked them. He said they were in between a cake and a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States