Grandmother's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This was very yummy! However, I did make some modifications. I added about a third more cheese and 2-3 tablespoons of butter--it was not dry at all! I also used Dijon mustard and cumin powder instead of hot sauce. Finally, I put a layer of Parmesan on top to give it a nice crusty brown top. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
The cheddar cheese just does not work for me. I did reduce the amount of cheddar, and added mozzarella. I used 1c whole milk, added diced plum tomatoes then baked for 45 min. Hot and bubbly, though a bit bland and on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is a great basic mac & cheese recipe. The only suggestion for a change would be to sprinkle a layer of grated parmesan cheese over the top. This recipe also doubles very easily so I usually make a double batch. It's an often requested item when we have neighborhood gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Make this recipe over and over and over again! Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Cinanni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Very good and easy to make,I even added bacon and and cooked onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Burton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alt2264
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I doubled the recipe and used more milk for a creamier taste and substituted in honey mustard instead and also used slightly more cheese and baked for thirty min. Hands down best Mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I found the recipe subpar. I was looking forward to splurging, calorie wise, by having a creamy, cheesy, and overall delicious macaroni and cheese. However, sadly that is not what this recipe proffered. The macaroni and cheese was dry and not creamy by any means. My significant other liked the flavor, but agreed it was not what he had in mind. If I make it again, which is highly unlikely, I may not include the eggs. **Please note I did increase the serving size (increased it to 12) and that may have contributed to the lacking outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was a great recipe! Everyone at the table loved this homemade version of mac and cheese! I had thought I had mustard in the refrigerator but I didn't, so I compromised and use some honey mustard (haha) and everyone said it gave the dish just a slight sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very easy to prepare and tasty. My family all gave thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Yummy and easy!!! My 3 year old son helps me make it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States