Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This recipe isn't bad, just isn't anything to get really excited about. I use to have another recipe for cranberry brad that was fantastic, and thought this might be as good, but it's not. I also use dried cranberries when I don't have fresh ones on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Very crumbly.Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
With so many raisins and cranberrries, this remided me of a fruit cake. It was dense, but tasted ok. Although, I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I agree with some of the other reviewers on this...cooked on the outside, not done on the inside even tho' a toothpick came out clean. And it fell apart. There was too much stuff...maybe only a cup each of raisins and cranberries would work. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Not too sweet with lots of flavor. The bread is moist and slightly crusty on top. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made 4 loaves to give as Christmas gifts and it was a huge hit! It is moist, and very flavorful. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This recipe has been a Thanksgiving family tradition since my mom and I found it in a children's book 35 years ago. Young kids might also like the book (Cranberry Thanksgiving.) The recipe is easy and quick, at least if you have a food processor or blender for the cranberries. 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts makes a nice addition to a loaf. Cooking times vary widely based on the juiciness of the fruit; use the cooking time as a starting point, then test with a toothpick inserted into the center of each loaf. (If it comes out clean, the loaf is done.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
this is an interesting combination of flavors that would be perfect with your afternoon cup of tea. it's a colorful loaf and would look perfect with a few Christmas cookies. i think this would make a beautiful loaf of fruit bread to bring to Christmas dinner. Thank you for sharing! What a nice change from the traditional pumpkin or banana breads I always make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I had this recipe as a child, but we lost it in a house fire. It was so nice to surprise my family with it this Christmas! I make it all cranberry, and it is fantastic...the orange really adds a special zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I also made the substitution of all cranberries (I used whole/uncut) and no raisins. It seemed slightly undercooked and fell apart when it came out of the pan. Tasted pretty good, but didn't hold together well. Would probably cut cranberries next time as recipe suggests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States