Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have been making this exact recipe for about 18 years. The first time I made was when my daughter was in grade two. This recipes was given to us by her teacher after a field trip to a cranberry farm. The kids picked their own cranberries and brought them back to school. The next day with parent help all 20 kids made this recipe using their fresh picked cranberries. I can still remember all those smiling little faces when they finally got to eat it. I have been making it ever since, have never and would never change a thing....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo-Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Oh, My. Word. These were delicious!! I didn't have raisins, so I subbed chocolate chips--cranberry and chocolate is fantastic together anyway! Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly! Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was so delicious! I made it less than 24 hours ago and it's all gone. I had left over cranberries (whole) from a cranberry sauce that my husband made for Thanksgiving. I cut them in half and also added some chopped up dried apricot because I didn't have any raisins. I used about 3/4 cup of sugar and thought it was plenty sweet since the cranberries I used were already cooked in orange juice and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This bread is amazing!!! The best cranberry bread recipe I've had. I baked it according to directions and sprayed my pans extra heavy after reading other reviews. One pan was metal and the bread popped right out, the other was stonewear and it stuck a little in the bottom. Probably just my pan! I also used craisins in place of raisins since my boys don't like raisins. I'll try it with raisins sometime though!! Thanks for sharing this great family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very nice flavor! I made this for Thanksgiving with other assorted breads and these went the fastest and got great reviews! I was out of butter so I subsituted plain yogurt instead, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I just made this Cranberry Bread for Thanksgiving - it's delicious!!! I only used a cup of cranberries and no raisins and cooked for 70 minutes. It's not too crumbly and it tastes divine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I added walnuts and craisins + fresh cranberries... it was good. Made me nervous because it browned so fast. I covered it with foil for the last 20 minutes so it didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I *love* cranberries so I was very happy to find this recipe! I made the recipe exactly as written and it turned out wonderfully. Two days later, it was still moist and delicious. Next time I will substitute dried cranberries for the golden raisins and see how it turns out! Just a note: the 70 min. baking time was too long for me. I took the bread out at 65 mins., and even then the loaf was a little dark. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made the 12 servings amount into 6 jumbo muffins (texas muffin pan). I greased the pan before hand, and I used whole wheat pastry flour instead. I used unsalted butter. They came out great, but maybe a little dry, probably because of my choice of flour. Next time I will add a little more orange juice or some apple sauce. I used cran-raisins or craisins instead of whole cranberries, since that's what I had, but I want to try the recipe with the whole cranberries. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
What a great way to use leftover frozen cranberries. I made muffins instead, added 1/2 of the zested orange (sliced) to the cranberries and blended in a blender with about an extra 1/8 cup of OJ. Muffins came out very moist, great flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States