Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I just made this bread, so good! I used cranraisins as other have suggested, rather than just raisins. Also, thank goodness i read another suggestion not put the oven timer set for 70 minutes! I baked the bread at 55 minutes and it came out great. I let the bread cool some , even thought it was not mentioned to do so. The bread came out of the pan fine. When cutting up into slices the cranberry bread fell apart just a bit. Next time will put in an extra 2 minutes for baking. The bread was moist and any more bakeing time would make it dry. The orange juice and zest, just makes this bread so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. I just told my mother that I think this is the best bread I have ever baked! The flavors of the orange and cranberry blend really well. I was scared when I was mixing it together because the only seasoning you add is the orange peel. It really does not need any other flavoring! The orange juice and the peel give it plenty. Very yummy - moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly_leigh82

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Mine turned out so good. I used 2/3 cup of cranberry sauce instead of the orange juice, and only 1 1/2 cups of chopped cranberries. Wowsa! My family ate and ate and complimented and complimented me. I made some mini muffins and drizzled them with white chocolate.These I put in the freezer for Thanksgiving. Great. My plan is to have a lot of different goodies ready in the freezer for Thanksgiving. The variety is what my family loves. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qui*

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Pretty tasty, but mine came out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Really moist, fresh flavored bread. Popular with our tasters, scores ranged from 3-5, but many compliments across the group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very good...without raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have been making this exact recipe for about 18 years. The first time I made was when my daughter was in grade two. This recipes was given to us by her teacher after a field trip to a cranberry farm. The kids picked their own cranberries and brought them back to school. The next day with parent help all 20 kids made this recipe using their fresh picked cranberries. I can still remember all those smiling little faces when they finally got to eat it. I have been making it ever since, have never and would never change a thing....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo-Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Oh, My. Word. These were delicious!! I didn't have raisins, so I subbed chocolate chips--cranberry and chocolate is fantastic together anyway! Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly! Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was so delicious! I made it less than 24 hours ago and it's all gone. I had left over cranberries (whole) from a cranberry sauce that my husband made for Thanksgiving. I cut them in half and also added some chopped up dried apricot because I didn't have any raisins. I used about 3/4 cup of sugar and thought it was plenty sweet since the cranberries I used were already cooked in orange juice and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This bread is amazing!!! The best cranberry bread recipe I've had. I baked it according to directions and sprayed my pans extra heavy after reading other reviews. One pan was metal and the bread popped right out, the other was stonewear and it stuck a little in the bottom. Probably just my pan! I also used craisins in place of raisins since my boys don't like raisins. I'll try it with raisins sometime though!! Thanks for sharing this great family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States