Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used dark rasins, and half whole wheat flour. It is so much like a fruit cake that it is not funny. Really great, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Loved this. I used 1/2 wheat 1/2 white flour, Earth Balance instead of butter, and boiled the raisins (2 cups 1 cup currants) in the OJ. I added some extra juice (I used whole foods OJ w/peach and mango) in order make the batter pour and used extract instead of zest. I cooked this at 375 (by accident) and it was done in about 55 minutes with a nice browned crust. The flavor is really good and it's a very moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
After reading the reviews, I wanted to make sure my bread didn't crumble, so the only changes I made were in procedure and not ingredients. I heated the OJ and then put my cranberries and golden raisins in this to let them soften. I then added the butter and beaten egg to this mixture (the butter was already soft and melted in this warm mixture) and mixed well. I added this mixture to the dry ingredients and poured into 2 pans and baked for 40-45 mins (must check, but they came out perfectly baked in my oven in 44-45 mins). Smelled fabulous and tasted even better. No crumbling at all. This procedural change is from a different recipe on this site, and worked very well here (and I don't like cutting butter into dry ingredients, anyway). Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour...made it lighter and really moist. Used craisins and put a dash of cinnamon in it, as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We found this recipe at the end of a children's book and my kids and I have made it every year since then. We like to substitute dark chocolate chips for the raisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Thank you, Grandma! I love cranberry and orange together, but usually the orange flavor gets lost. Not with this recipe. It will definitely go in my repeat file. My cranberries were frozen, so I processed them, which distributed the bits throughout the loaf. Some pieces were larger, which just makes some bites even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by otama
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is excellent. I've made this twice; once as written and once adding toasted walnuts instead of raisins. Both were delicious. I also increased the cranberries to 2 cups and did not chop them. This is such a pretty bread when cut. Thanks for posting this lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I thought this was wonderful. Made just as written, mine baked around the 70 min. every oven is different by a few degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
perfect for tea time,breakfast on the go, or as a snack for kids.I made it with a bit of adjustments,added half cup sugar instead of 1 and 1 tbsp of honey.turned out sweet enough for me.added a pinch of cinnamon,gave it a nice kick and took 50 min to bake to perfection,20 lower rack then 30 upper rack.turned out awesomeee.crunchy on the outside,soft on the inside,thnx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I just made this bread, so good! I used cranraisins as other have suggested, rather than just raisins. Also, thank goodness i read another suggestion not put the oven timer set for 70 minutes! I baked the bread at 55 minutes and it came out great. I let the bread cool some , even thought it was not mentioned to do so. The bread came out of the pan fine. When cutting up into slices the cranberry bread fell apart just a bit. Next time will put in an extra 2 minutes for baking. The bread was moist and any more bakeing time would make it dry. The orange juice and zest, just makes this bread so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States