Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My daughter doesn't like raisins so I had to omit them. I baked mini muffins for her 1st grade class. I baked them for 17 min. at 350 and lightly glazed them. THEY LOVED them! GLAZE: 1 tsp light corn syrup, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, 11/4 cup powder sugar, 2Tblspn milk. I will be baking a batch for our Thankgiving gathering this year. These are so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It has been family tradition to make this bread for Thanksgiving for more than 20 years. We don't care for the raisins so we leave them out and put in double the cranberries. So yummy! I always make extra and freeze it for a treat later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ziesemer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe is from the book "Cranberries Thanksgiving" it was out of print for a few years so very expensive, but has now been reprinted. If you read the story with your kids, then make the bread it is so much more special! I agree with some that it is better after it "sits". My kids are a little older now and help me make it for friends and teachers before the Christmas cookies start. I sometimes throw in some chocolate chips for a variety. My husband describes it as more of a "fruitcake" so maybe that is why some are looking for a bread consistency and don't get that. I am NOT a fan of fruit cake, but like this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely. I added pecans and also reduced cooking time to 50 min. I put the butter in hard and cut it into the flour. The bread came out perfect. Nice and moist with a slight crust to the outside. It was delicious and moist to the last slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Mullins
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made these during a hurricane and wasn't sure the power would stay on for the full hour to bake a loaf so I used muffin cups and it made absolutely fantastic muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJoyfulheart
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I made this in my 5th grade class and lived it! I copied the recipe and used it ever since. I lost the recipe and just found it here ! I was so excited! The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I omitted the raisins. It still turns out good in my own opinion! An awesome sweet and tart combination that leaves your taste buds wanting more!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this a couple days ago for Christmas brunch and everyone raved about it. I used fresh oj (took about 5 oranges). I followed the suggestion to blend the sugar and softened butter together, then added the egg and blended again, then added the OJ and zest. I increased the zest to 1 tablespoon because I love the flavor. I decreased the raisins to about 3/4 cup but kept the cranberries at a cup and a half. I baked in a glass 9x5x3 and the bread came out perfectly. It was not dry or crumbly and I felt it had a nice cranberry flavor. My dad said it was the best he'd had (not that he's biased or anything). I'm saving this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made two of these last night and they are by far the best cranberry bread I've had! So easy and so delicious. Cooked perfectly at 70 minutes! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I have made this several times and it always comes out moist, flavorful and simply perfect. It keeps well and stays moist to the last slice. Grandma's famous cranberry bread is becoming a holiday tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Amazingly I followed the recipe as written except I did not chop my cranberries. I would never have thought to combine raisins and cranberries but they work well together both for taste and appearance. I must assume all those who complained about the bread crumbling did not cut the butter into the flour sugar mixture sufficiently. Both the baking time and temperature worked for me, although I did put a piece of foil over the top at about the halfway point of baking so the top didn't over-brown. All in all, this is a lovely holiday treat that I will include with my other homemade gifts. Thank you Mim Harris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States