Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very nice flavor! I made this for Thanksgiving with other assorted breads and these went the fastest and got great reviews! I was out of butter so I subsituted plain yogurt instead, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I just made this Cranberry Bread for Thanksgiving - it's delicious!!! I only used a cup of cranberries and no raisins and cooked for 70 minutes. It's not too crumbly and it tastes divine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I added walnuts and craisins + fresh cranberries... it was good. Made me nervous because it browned so fast. I covered it with foil for the last 20 minutes so it didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I *love* cranberries so I was very happy to find this recipe! I made the recipe exactly as written and it turned out wonderfully. Two days later, it was still moist and delicious. Next time I will substitute dried cranberries for the golden raisins and see how it turns out! Just a note: the 70 min. baking time was too long for me. I took the bread out at 65 mins., and even then the loaf was a little dark. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made the 12 servings amount into 6 jumbo muffins (texas muffin pan). I greased the pan before hand, and I used whole wheat pastry flour instead. I used unsalted butter. They came out great, but maybe a little dry, probably because of my choice of flour. Next time I will add a little more orange juice or some apple sauce. I used cran-raisins or craisins instead of whole cranberries, since that's what I had, but I want to try the recipe with the whole cranberries. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
What a great way to use leftover frozen cranberries. I made muffins instead, added 1/2 of the zested orange (sliced) to the cranberries and blended in a blender with about an extra 1/8 cup of OJ. Muffins came out very moist, great flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I have been looking for a dense and intensely cranberry bread reminiscent of one my mom made. I doubled the flour; sugar; butter; juice and zest and eggs; coarsely chopped a bag of fresh cranberries. I filled a 4 loaf stoneware pan sprayed with Pam 3/4 full and had great results. The texture turned out great and the taste is wonderful. It will make a great gift as it holds together well and slices beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Too crumbly. I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Love this recipe - a family staple since childhood. Our family (like others) omits the raisins and uses 2cups cranberries instead. Because the bread does tend to be crumbly I now make them as mini-muffins (makes about 3.5 dozen) baked at 350 for 17 minutes - bite sized and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is one of my favorites. I have used it many times. My whole family loves it. This recipe also works great for muffins which is great if you're in a hurry and don't have a whole hour to sit around waiting for loaves to bake. I have several friends who are midwives and I have made these muffins for them to take to births. They have always been a hit w/the new mommies. I do extra orange zest if I have it on hand and usually use concentrated o.j. mixed it so its twice as thick as standard o.j. This adds extra orangey goodness! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Selmer, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States