Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Used another reviewer suggestion -"I heated the OJ and then put my cranberries and golden raisins in this to let them soften. I then added the butter and beaten egg to this mixture (the butter was already soft and melted in this warm mixture) and mixed well. I added this mixture to the dry ingredients and poured into 2 pans and baked for 40-45 mins (must check, but they came out perfectly baked in my oven in 44-45 mins). I used fresh cranberries, I didn't use raisins, and baked for 45 mins. Loaves were not too sweet and did not fall apart when sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Amazing! I'll be making this one alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
i just tried this recipe and the taste was amazing, not to mention the aroma! it filled my kitchen and house like a cozy blanket:) too good, only problem is the bread crumbles ALOT when i cut it. any tips on how to improve that???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made this last nigh, and for me, it's just ok. A bit dense, maybe I over mixed it....the flavor is quite mild, barely taste the orange. I took another reviewers suggestion and warmed the orange juice then added the raisins and cranberries to the juice. It did not fall apart. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wonderful recipe, great taste, a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I liked the taste but found it much too dry. Was disappointed. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I always love cranberry bread this time of year and will definitely use this recipe again. The bread is delicious! I followed a previous reviewers recommendation of heating the orange juice, mixing the wet ingredients and soaking the chopped cranberries and raisins before mixing with the flour mixture. One change I will make next time is decreasing the raisins to 1/2 cup - 1 1/2 cups was too much and made the bread a little too sweet. I do like the combination of raisins and cranberries, its an interesting and surprising twist on classic cranberry bread. I did split the bread into 2 dark loaf pans, cooked them for 40 minutes and they came out perfect. I may experiment with some chopped pecans and coconut for a little nuttiness. I will be making this bread to my family's Thanksgiving dinner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe is special to us, not only because we love the delicious Cranberry Bread (everyone in the family gobbles it up), but because it takes us back to reading the lovely book, Cranberry Thanksgiving, that introduced us to the recipe in the first place. It is a Thanksgiving tradition for us to prepare the bread together, read the book and fondly remember the generation that began this tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
A bit dry but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was very good. It seemed like a lot of cranberries/raisins for the amount of batter, but it turned out great. It seemed susceptible to crumble, so I was careful with it when moving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States