Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is a very tasty, moist bread. I used dried cranraisins in place of the regular raisins. Next time I will decrease the amount of cranraisins to 1 1/2 cup, as I thought a total of 3 cups was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I didn't want to use raisins and was going to use blueberries but didn't have any. I ended up slicing up an orange into small pieces and letting the juice drain a bit then mixed them in with the cranberries. It was wonderful! I've saved this recipe so I can easily have it on hand to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This bread is a fall-season tradition in my family... we've been making it since we read the book "Cranberry Thanksgiving" 25 years ago. I've made it fat-free by using non-fat plain yogurt instead of butter. I also use whole wheat pastry flour and instead of orange peel, 1 tsp of orange extract. I always use the fresh cranberries, and I use dried cranberries in place of raisins. My neighbor has asked me to bring this bread to her holiday open house - it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I've been making this cranberry bread since I read the book "Cranberry Thanksgiving" almost twenty years ago. It has become a family favorite and is perfect for breakfast. I use dried cranberries (like Craisins) instead of fresh ones. They're not so tart and I don't have to mess with chopping them, I just pour them in! I've also spread the batter in a 9x12 cake pan once and it came out kind of like a bar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Very yummy if you omit the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I too remember this recipe and i searched for a long time to try and locate it. This is the best cranberry bread that i have ever tasted and my best friend begs me to bake her a loaf all the time. the only thing i change is that i omit the rasins and add more cranberries : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This recipe isn't bad, just isn't anything to get really excited about. I use to have another recipe for cranberry brad that was fantastic, and thought this might be as good, but it's not. I also use dried cranberries when I don't have fresh ones on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Very crumbly.Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
With so many raisins and cranberrries, this remided me of a fruit cake. It was dense, but tasted ok. Although, I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I agree with some of the other reviewers on this...cooked on the outside, not done on the inside even tho' a toothpick came out clean. And it fell apart. There was too much stuff...maybe only a cup each of raisins and cranberries would work. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States