Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I have been looking for a dense and intensely cranberry bread reminiscent of one my mom made. I doubled the flour; sugar; butter; juice and zest and eggs; coarsely chopped a bag of fresh cranberries. I filled a 4 loaf stoneware pan sprayed with Pam 3/4 full and had great results. The texture turned out great and the taste is wonderful. It will make a great gift as it holds together well and slices beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Too crumbly. I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Love this recipe - a family staple since childhood. Our family (like others) omits the raisins and uses 2cups cranberries instead. Because the bread does tend to be crumbly I now make them as mini-muffins (makes about 3.5 dozen) baked at 350 for 17 minutes - bite sized and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is one of my favorites. I have used it many times. My whole family loves it. This recipe also works great for muffins which is great if you're in a hurry and don't have a whole hour to sit around waiting for loaves to bake. I have several friends who are midwives and I have made these muffins for them to take to births. They have always been a hit w/the new mommies. I do extra orange zest if I have it on hand and usually use concentrated o.j. mixed it so its twice as thick as standard o.j. This adds extra orangey goodness! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Selmer, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is a very tasty, moist bread. I used dried cranraisins in place of the regular raisins. Next time I will decrease the amount of cranraisins to 1 1/2 cup, as I thought a total of 3 cups was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I didn't want to use raisins and was going to use blueberries but didn't have any. I ended up slicing up an orange into small pieces and letting the juice drain a bit then mixed them in with the cranberries. It was wonderful! I've saved this recipe so I can easily have it on hand to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This bread is a fall-season tradition in my family... we've been making it since we read the book "Cranberry Thanksgiving" 25 years ago. I've made it fat-free by using non-fat plain yogurt instead of butter. I also use whole wheat pastry flour and instead of orange peel, 1 tsp of orange extract. I always use the fresh cranberries, and I use dried cranberries in place of raisins. My neighbor has asked me to bring this bread to her holiday open house - it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I've been making this cranberry bread since I read the book "Cranberry Thanksgiving" almost twenty years ago. It has become a family favorite and is perfect for breakfast. I use dried cranberries (like Craisins) instead of fresh ones. They're not so tart and I don't have to mess with chopping them, I just pour them in! I've also spread the batter in a 9x12 cake pan once and it came out kind of like a bar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Very yummy if you omit the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I too remember this recipe and i searched for a long time to try and locate it. This is the best cranberry bread that i have ever tasted and my best friend begs me to bake her a loaf all the time. the only thing i change is that i omit the rasins and add more cranberries : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States