Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I liked the taste but found it much too dry. Was disappointed. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I always love cranberry bread this time of year and will definitely use this recipe again. The bread is delicious! I followed a previous reviewers recommendation of heating the orange juice, mixing the wet ingredients and soaking the chopped cranberries and raisins before mixing with the flour mixture. One change I will make next time is decreasing the raisins to 1/2 cup - 1 1/2 cups was too much and made the bread a little too sweet. I do like the combination of raisins and cranberries, its an interesting and surprising twist on classic cranberry bread. I did split the bread into 2 dark loaf pans, cooked them for 40 minutes and they came out perfect. I may experiment with some chopped pecans and coconut for a little nuttiness. I will be making this bread to my family's Thanksgiving dinner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe is special to us, not only because we love the delicious Cranberry Bread (everyone in the family gobbles it up), but because it takes us back to reading the lovely book, Cranberry Thanksgiving, that introduced us to the recipe in the first place. It is a Thanksgiving tradition for us to prepare the bread together, read the book and fondly remember the generation that began this tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
A bit dry but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was very good. It seemed like a lot of cranberries/raisins for the amount of batter, but it turned out great. It seemed susceptible to crumble, so I was careful with it when moving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Terrific recipe, easy to make and absolutely scrumptious if you like fruit. I used no orange extract and black rather than golden raisins, only a cup rather than one and one half. Had a feeling a cup and a half would be too much. My oven runs fast, so after I noticed the loaf firming up, I began checking it every five minutes with a clean knife. Sure enough, after sixty minutes rather than seventy, it was done. If there's a better cranberry bread anywhere, I've never tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Amazing!!!!!!!!! First cranberry bread and my fiancee and kids love it!!!!! I did 3 cups of fresh cranberries that's it and everything else to the T.. And for sure will make again.. Thank you for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foody320

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Just delicious! I had purchased several packages of cranberries during the holidays and this is my favorite recipe to make with them. The golden raisins add just the right balance. I substitute 1/2 whole-wheat flour to make it a bit healthier and it comes out fine this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I never thought of making a cranberry bread before, until a friend requested I make one. I gave this one a try and she LOVED it. I make alot of breads and don't enjoy "cutting" in butter. I creamed the butter & sugar until light, added egg & orange zest & OJ until well combined then added dry ingredients. Quick breads are like muffins you do not want to mix too long, just until combined. I stirred in cranberries and walnuts (some family members have issues with raisins) by hand. Mine baked up in about 55 minutes. Very moist, very flavorful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a wonderfuly delicious recipe. Easy too! I make 6 loaves at a time and its perfect every time. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States