Grandmother's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This cheesecake is delicious. I only gave it 4 stars because 500 degrees for 15 minutes made the top of the cheesecake very brown, almost burnt. I had to cover the top with foil. Next time I'll try it at 400 degrees. Also I didn't bother with the pastry trimmings as stated in step 5, I used almost all of it in step one.This makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This recipie was great!!! Using a graham cracker crust rather that the one given is great also! a little less citrus zest as well 1 tsp is all! But iver all delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This is the best cheesecake, it is the same as the famous "Lindy's" cheesecake from New York City.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Next to Lindsy Newyork cheesecake this come next. This cheesecake is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This cheesecake is very good. I had the same trouble with the top getting a bit too brown. I also found the crust a bit hard to handle. My cheesecake didn't cook through 100% but I feel that might be the fault of my oven. Overall, very tasty (though one can't eat too much at once!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Well this was a lot of work! But it was my first homemade cheesecake, so maybe they are all like this. It turned out very good. The crust, however, was very overcooked. Next time I am going to skip the first part of baking the crust, or cut the time in half, because the crust in the end was a dark brown and dry. The cheesecake baked well though, and had a very light taste and texture. Very good, but again, a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious! My husbad ate half the cheesecake in one evening, while I finished the remainder off by lunch the next day! Now that I've found this cheesecake,I better up my workouts to twice a day... :-P Thanks again for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
The citrus notes are delightful-I substituted lime zest for the lemon, and the result was quite satisfactory. I definitely agree that the baking time or temp needs to be reduced, since I had to shave all the sides off since they were nicely burnt. I ended up having way too much filling; I don't know if that was a personal problem or a recipe issue. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States