Grandmother's Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious! Based on previous comments and what I had on hand, I tweaked the recipe and it was very tasty! I only had 1 pound of carrots and to that I added 1/2-3/4 cup mayo, a TBS of sugar, 1/2 cup panko crumbs, and 1/4-1/2 cup French's Fried onions. The hubby agreed, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Was somewhat skeptical about this combination at first, like some of the other reviewers, but I have to say, it is AMAZING! My daughter even ate this and she hates cooked carrots of any kind! I did cut way back on the sugar and added butter and a lil less mayo, with a lil bit of onion and garlic powder. I will definitely make this again...it is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I've been looking for new & interesting ways to prepare veggies. This was pretty good. I didn't use all the recommended sugar...more like 1/3 cup instead of 1/2. Tastes even better then next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was delicious! Simple and so good! The only change I made was to add more crackers on top with a little melted butter/margarine and then sprinkle on top, this gave the casserole alot of crunch. Will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Awesome, these were soooooo goood, my whole family loved them. I really like carrots with brown sugar, but the rest of my family likes them plain, this was a good combination, cause they were definitly sweet but not overly and the kids love anything with crackers!!!! Awesome recipe,will be making it again. Oh and the only change i made, was that i sauteed the onions in butter instead of steaming them, because i absolutely love sauteed onions!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racensissysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up the last of my carrots, so they would not ruin. I tried this recipe and it was great!! Had the best taste! Now, I know just what to do with my left over carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
So yummy! Great side dish to go with savory main dish (such as roast which I had). Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and my family enjoyed it. I used regular carrots and made the home-made mayo as per one of the suggestions. I also reduced the sugar as many reviewers suggested. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was very good. I didn't use the sugar called for just sprinkled a little on but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It was a big hit at our Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was very good. I did cut the sugar in half and it was very sweet. I sauteed the onions in 2 Tbs. of butter then added to the drained carrots. I also added more buttered cracker crumbs on top. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolateflowers
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States