Grandmother's Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Sorry but I didn't like these at all... the mayo and sugar combo was too much for me and they were very sweet with 1/2 cup of sugar. I would recommend cutting the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up the last of my carrots, so they would not ruin. I tried this recipe and it was great!! Had the best taste! Now, I know just what to do with my left over carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Awesome, these were soooooo goood, my whole family loved them. I really like carrots with brown sugar, but the rest of my family likes them plain, this was a good combination, cause they were definitly sweet but not overly and the kids love anything with crackers!!!! Awesome recipe,will be making it again. Oh and the only change i made, was that i sauteed the onions in butter instead of steaming them, because i absolutely love sauteed onions!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Putzier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I loved this, but hubby did not, he thought it was too sweet and I even cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup. I might try it again using even less sugar, but overall I thought it was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was delicious! Simple and so good! The only change I made was to add more crackers on top with a little melted butter/margarine and then sprinkle on top, this gave the casserole alot of crunch. Will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was very good. I didn't use the sugar called for just sprinkled a little on but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It was a big hit at our Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Was somewhat skeptical about this combination at first, like some of the other reviewers, but I have to say, it is AMAZING! My daughter even ate this and she hates cooked carrots of any kind! I did cut way back on the sugar and added butter and a lil less mayo, with a lil bit of onion and garlic powder. I will definitely make this again...it is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
My husband liked this so much I actually made it twice in one week! For the mayonnaise, I used the do it yourself recipe from the "salmon deviled eggs and homemade mayonnaise" recipe on this site. I think that worked extremely well with the sweeter taste of this casserole dish. But I did only use about 1/4 cup of sugar, as suggested by other commenters. Also, it is really great right out of the fridge the next day--even better than when it is first done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Too sweet for us. The flavors just don't blend together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
So yummy! Great side dish to go with savory main dish (such as roast which I had). Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States