Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very good. I made 3 different recipes on one night. This one was the best to my taste, but then I am a "yankee" so the northern (sweet) corn bread was better for me than the souther (no sugar) recipe I made. The kids loved it. Not overly sweet. I made it exactly as the recipe described except I didn't get all the complicated mixing instructions. I just mixed it all and put it in a greased 8x8 pan. Kept it simple. May make it again but will be looking for a less dense recipe more like the Jiffy corn muffin mix but from scratch. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Tried this last night and loved it. The few modifications I made was to melt the butter in the microwave, didn't have any buttermilk at home so I put a tablespoon of white vinegar in a cup of milk and let it sit for 5 minutes, and I cut the sugar down to just half a cup. Was done in 30 minutes and tasted great. It was still moist and the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I used margarine rather than butter. I love the one dish only. After reading the reviews I made sure to use a glass dish and to check at 30 minutes. It was super moist, not too sugary like some complained and had a nice light texture to it. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
First time making cornbread and it was amazing!! It was very moist and tasted like something you could get at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
this recipe was perfect just as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I'm not sure what it is, but I've made this twice now, and it always comes out flat. Not at all like the picture. My daughter in law had the same problem. After the second time, I looked at the recipe on the cornmeal package and it called for baking powder not baking soda. Could this be the problem? Nobody else seemed to have this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Natale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is the best cornbread recipe I've ever tried. I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Far too sweet for my (northern) taste, but my husband LOVED it. I mixed and baked it a big cast iron skillet. Worked perfectly. Toasted a slice in butter on a griddle topped with a fried egg, a delish breakfast. I gave it an extra star because of my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Stayed moist for days!! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Made this with chicken, sausage, and crab gumbo at Christmas. Don't change a thing; it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States