Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
For literally years I have resigned myself to cornbread that falls apart when you try to get in out of the pan, much less when you try to slap on some butter. This recipe is not only delish it holds together! Last night my husband said "well you finally found a keeper." Thank you Bethany. You've brought cornbread back into my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Hats off to your grandmother! I have made this recipe as is four times already and my family loves it!!!! Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evette
Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My sister made this for a family "Chili Night" and I have to say it was the best Cornbread I have ever eaten. It was moist and perfect. The only thing she did differently was to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup. It was sweet, but not overly so. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Made this to bring for Thanksgiving. It was a hit. Very delicious, not dry, and just a hint of sweetness from the sugar. I really should have made a double batch since everyone ate it. I'm going to make this regularly for myself. The little amount of time and effort it takes to make this from scratch instead of using a box mix is SO worth it. I think next time I make I'm going to try adding a can of cream corn and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Amazing cornbread! I followed the recipe as is except for reducing the sugar to 1/2 cup as other reviewers recommended. It was delicious with only a hint of sweetness. Also, used a 9 inch square pan and it was done in 25 minutes. Moist, delicious and a great addition to our Thanksgiving dinner. Next time I would either find an 8 inch pan or if still using the 9 inch, bake it only 20 minutes to ensure that the side pieces were as moist as the center pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
this is the only cornbread recipe I will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gesikale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nela Ramirez
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It came out great on my first try! And I really do not bake... ever, but now I have something I can bring to every family gathering :) couldn't have been simpler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nela Ramirez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a great recipe! The only thing is that I left it in the oven for 40 mins and the middle was kind of not done. I had to put it back in the oven for a few. Very good, not dry, and not too sweet! Yummers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Perfectly moist, perfectly sweet. So many compliments on this recipe. I even had someone text me the next day in thanks for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GR80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States