Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is my favorite cornbread recipe. I always use the whole wheat flour. Making 2 pans today; one for dinner with 10 bean soup and one to freeze..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
GREAT recipe. Followed to a tee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this w/ some modifications. I only used 1/2c of sugar, and used 1/2c sour cream w/ 1/2 of raw milk instead of buttermilk since I didn't have any. Everything else was kept the same. I also just melted the butter in the microwave. This was absolutely delicious though. I think w/ the full amount of sugar, it would've been WAY too sweet for our liking. Even with the 1/2 it was still sweet, but just the right amount and the way we like it. The texture was awesome. Very airy and cakey. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Man this cornbread right here is good! I didn't change a thing but making my own buttermilk..... Also cooked it stove top and bam, we got some good cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I like a sweet corn bread and this one was perfect. Didn't change a thing but next time I need to grease my pan a tad bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Since I had split pea soup going in the crock pot for dinner tonight, I was thinking about how good cornbread bread would be with it, so as soon as I got home from work, I searched for a moist cornbread recipe and found this one. Didn't have any buttermilk, so I used half sour cream & half milk. I also cut the sugar down a little and added hunks of cheese to it. I loved it! Good recipe! I do not care for dry cornbread and this was nice & moist. Thanks, Bethany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this as stated and it was great! I had to watch the cooking time since my oven is a little hot, but the toothpick trick worked perfectly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I've adapted it into a gluten free version and everyone who ever tries it absolutely loves it. I've also made the recipe exactly as is and it is wonderful. The only thing that really needs to be changed is to add eggs slowly while whisking very quickly. If you add the eggs quickly, you'll get solid bits of egg in your cornbread. To make gluten free: swap out all purpose flour for a gluten free flour blend (I make my own) Add 1tsp xanthan gum. Whisk this into the flour blend before adding. My own special twist: Swap out half of the butter for coconut oil. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Best cornbread recipe I've found! Gets rave reviews at every potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This makes a really good corn cake. My husband loved it for dessert. Really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States