Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
EXCELLENT! This is IT -- I love, love, love cornbread and am committing to this one forever! My regular AP flour was buggy (!) so I used my self-rising flour even though I'd already added the baking soda. Also cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Came out perfectly after 25 minutes in the oven, and I'm SUPER excited for this new go-to recipe! THANK YOU for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe was the best cornbread I have tried yet! Very moist and sweet but not too sweet, just right!I followed exactly and baked 35 minutes, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I have tried many cornbread recipes, and this is the one my family likes the best so far. I always cut down on the sugar in recipes, so used 1/2 cup for this one. May cut it down further next time, but that's really due to our personal preference. Some of the reviews said this turned out dry, but I did not find that at all. In fact, I may even cut down on the butter a smidge next time. I did use regular flour (not whole wheat) and baked for just 30 minutes per the author's addendum. BTW, I grew up in the South and enjoy the non-sweet cornbread there, but this cornbread recipe is still a keeper – indeed, the author does not claim that this is Southern cornbread. If you're going to flame a recipe for not being regionally correct, check your facts first. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by varla83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
A little sweet but everyone loved it. Didn't have buttermilk so did the milk vinegar trick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Just right...not too sweet and was moist and buttery. (I didn't even have to put butter on it.) It also had a nice slightly crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is the best cornbread recipe I've ever encountered! The whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Dense, sweet, and moist. Perfect cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Good Recipe! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
So good! I had chili last night for dinner and wanted to make cornbread on the side. I don't usually make sweet cornbread, but I wanted to try something new. I'm so glad I did. This wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be, which is a good thing - went really well with the spicy chili. This will be my go to recipe for cornbread from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
These were good. Watch timing closely, as easy to dry out if over baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,873) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States