Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very moist and soft! I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and it was still plenty sweet. Definitely our favorite cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The first cornbread that I remember, and the one that has held the standard in my mind, was from Mothers Kitchen in Chatham, N.J. in (about) 1963. I have been a lifelong cornbread lover, but ever in search of the standard set by "Mothers" so many years ago. Well, I can sleep soundly tonight because I have found it, and it is here! I do plan on trying some tweak recipes on it, such as using whole wheat flour, but if it does not pan out I will not be disappointed because, in my most humble opinion, this is the best cornbread recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Have used Jiffy for years, but will now use this one. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Love this cornbread, the best I've done I changed the sugar to 1/2 brown, sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Favorite cornbread recipe, first one I tried and never needed to look for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
The first time I made this, it was between breakfast and lunch. I had a piece when it cooled down a little, then I had cornbread for lunch, cornbread for a mid-afternoon snack, cornbread for dinner, cornbread for dessert, and cornbread for a bedtime snack. What was left I had for breakfast the next day. No shame here. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Fabulous-didn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wanda
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
One of the best cornbread recipes I have ever made. My daughter, who doesn't like cornbread, actually ate this. Moist, sweet, very easy to make. Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is now a staple bread when making soup or chilli. I use 1/3 cup of sugar instead of the 2/3 called for and find it just right for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I liked this recipe, but I came up with a few edits. First of all, they were a bit dry, so I used 1 1/3 cups of buttermilk, instead of 1 cup. Second of all, I used 1/3 cups white sugar, instead of 2/3. But other than that, it was wonderful. All the muffins I have made with the modified recipe came out great and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States