Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I used about 1/4 cup of sugar rather than the 2/3 cup it called for and that made it sweet enough for me. I don't like cornbread that is too sweet or cake-like; I prefer a little more of a salty, cornmeal-y taste in the balance. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. My cornbread turned out just a little crumbly although really not too dry. It was good but I feel that I need to tweak the recipe some to suit my personal taste and expectations. Thanks for sharing your family's recipe, Bethany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
The only thing I changed was I used 1 1/2 c corn meal and 1/2 c flour. It turned out great in flavor. Unfortunately, I did not cook the first batch long enough. But, the husband didn't care! He really liked it, as did I. I, too, used my little iron skillet to bake this. Makes a great crust. I will make this again and make sure to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Tipps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Easy to make. Moist and delicious, my coworkers loved it more than I did and I thought it was delicious. I did cut back on the sugar a little but otherwise followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly with the exception of I used 1/2 cup splenda in place of the sugar. I also poured into a hot,greased cast iron frying pan to bake. Moist and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My wife's family makes everything from scratch and it's all amazing. This is as amazing! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This recipe was really good and easy! I made it just as the recipe was written (following the author's updates in her review). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This recipe is simply yummy. I did make adjustments; I reduced the butter and used cream instead of buttermilk but still it is good. No more Boxed Jiffy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenna
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was an awesome recipe! Totally a 5 star! It was sweet without any syrup or honey on top. Although I melted the butter in the microwave and mixed all the ingredients into a large mixing bowl, multiplying the recipe by two, and baked it in a cupcake pan. It was great as cupcakes and easy for kids to make. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Easy and delicious! This is going to be my standard corn bread from now on!! I followed the recipe exactly and made no changes. I may add cheddar or jalapeños or both next time! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
So delicious!!! My children and I loved it! Dee-licious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States