Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
The first time I made this, it was between breakfast and lunch. I had a piece when it cooled down a little, then I had cornbread for lunch, cornbread for a mid-afternoon snack, cornbread for dinner, cornbread for dessert, and cornbread for a bedtime snack. What was left I had for breakfast the next day. No shame here. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Fabulous-didn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wanda
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
One of the best cornbread recipes I have ever made. My daughter, who doesn't like cornbread, actually ate this. Moist, sweet, very easy to make. Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is now a staple bread when making soup or chilli. I use 1/3 cup of sugar instead of the 2/3 called for and find it just right for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I liked this recipe, but I came up with a few edits. First of all, they were a bit dry, so I used 1 1/3 cups of buttermilk, instead of 1 cup. Second of all, I used 1/3 cups white sugar, instead of 2/3. But other than that, it was wonderful. All the muffins I have made with the modified recipe came out great and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe and I have made it at least 6 times with no fail...even did not have eggs one time and it still turned out good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
MY family LOVES this recipe the way it is!! I never change it when I want regular sweet cornbread, and this by far beats Marie Calendars!! the only time I have ever done anything extra to this recipe is to add one big can (or two little cans) of Ortega chilis to it. Comes out beautifully and the 40 minutes is a must if you add the chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The best homemade cornbread recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this for the first time today (Good Friday) my family loved it, especially my daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Good recipe, tasty cornbread. I used milk and vinegar for the buttermilk. I will do buttermilk next time because I think it will be even better. I used a casserole dish but cast iron is what I usually bake this kind of bread in. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States