Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
If you love sweet corn bread you'll love this recipe! I made the recipe exactly as written and both me and my husband loved it! You couldn't ask for a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Russ
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Awesome. Didn't have buttermilk so had to do the apple cider substitution with regular milk. Made 1.5x the recipe, which was the perfect size for a 12" cast iron skillet. Served with beef stew. Win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I loved this recipe. I usually use the Jiffy mix but had some cornmeal in the freezer that I need to use up. I have made other recipes and were very bland in my opinion. This is the best recipe ever and very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
It came out course and not moist at all. I like sweet cornbread but this is not sweet enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katrina Robison
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This recipe is the bomb. Thank you. Family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Robison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Absolutely amazing and very easy! Didn't have buttermilk on hand so I just added a splash of vinegar to the cup of milk and let sit briefly then followed recipe EXACTLY as written. You'll definitely be hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I loved this cornbread recipe! I made it as-is, it was very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. I didn't have a cast iron pan so baked in brownie pan. Yum. My 4- year old ate it like it was a cupcake. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love savory more than sweet, so I use the recipe part to a T, except only 1/4 cup of sugar. Then change up the process a bit. That's why I didn't give it a full 5. For southern style goodness, you want to use the whole stick of butter in the batter, and another 3 Tbsp in your 9" cast iron skillet. Keeps it super moist and, well, buttery! Heat up that extra bit of butter in the pan in the oven while you preheat it and mix the batter in a separate bowl, then carefully pour it into the hot, buttery skillet and bake as directed. The butter will ooze up the sides and over the top of the batter, making a beautiful crust. (If you get interrupted while mixing, though, pull out the pan so you don't scorch your butter.) Also key is the buttermilk...I don't keep that on hand, so I mix a half cup of plain full-fat ("traditional") Greek yogurt with enough whole milk (or even ranch dressing!) to make a cup, then stir in a Tbsp of lemon juice. Then, when you mix in the baking soda, it reacts and foams up really nicely, keeping the bread nice and fluffy. t's also great with some corn or chilis or grated cheese or all of the above...just stir it into the batter before you pour it into the pan. It's dangerous to have this around the house because I find excuses to have just one more piece (warm and toasty with milk or cream soaked in for breakfast? Yes, please!) so before I know it' it's gone and I have to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curryholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States