Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I used the wheat flour alternative and decreased the sugar to one half cup. I baked it in a 6x10 pan. It baked in about 30 minutes. I have been baking many versions of corn bread for years and find this one of the best!. My husband and son agreed. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Great recipe! Family loved it. We even ate the last few pieces the next day as a snack, and it was almost like cake. I had to substitute a little of the buttermilk for regular milk, but it was still delicious. Will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Used skim milk it's all I had. Was weired out about a stick of butter but this is the BEST cornbread I have ever eaten!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I made a double batch of this recipe to bake in 2 separate 8" pans. Before pouring into the pans, I tasted the batter and this is definitely a SWEET cornbread! I made a 3rd batch, omitting the sugar altogether, to stir into the double batch of batter I made. This, of course, cut down the sweetness. I divided the batter up into 3 pans, baked as directed & the bread came out moist with a crisp crust. I will use this recipe again, but will only use 1/4 cup to only 2 Tbls of sugar....just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I make it this way and also gluten free. To do gluten free I use 2 cups of corn meal and add 1 tsp baking soda and the 1 tsp baking powder so it rises. Sometimes I make it with salted butter and cut the salt to 1/4 tsp and it tastes even better with the salted butter. I love this recipe and have made it around 10 times or more. I have even added blueberries one time. You can make it with brown sugar too or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzviolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikkitn
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made exactly as is- first time, doubled the recipe and it turned out great, even the bake time was exact. Also put these in greased muffin tins for serving sizes and it was a huge hit! Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Yuuuuummmmyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I just found this recipe. It is the best ever! I added tripled the recipe & added 1 diced red and green jalapeño. It was just enough bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami McNea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I thought this cornbread was really good. Yes, it's sweet and yes I am from the south miss lady. So to say that no true southerner would put sugar in it is just silly. And yes, it's sweet, it says in the title it's sweet. Y'all need to stop being so negative. If you didn't want sweet cornbread, why make a recipe that clearly stated it was sweet? You can plainly see how much sugar is in it. And I don't think any person should speak for a whole region of the country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,773) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States