Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Glad you are all enjoying this recipe. Just wanted to mention a few things in response to some reviews. First, I mix all ingredients in the pan I melt the butter in. Less dishes. Second, I often use whole wheat flour to cut sweetness and make it a tad more healthy. Third, it freezes fabulously. I always make a double batch, remove one from the pan after cooling, wrap it up and pop it in the freezer. Thanks for all the rave reviews! 3/20 Based on some reviews I've read, I want to clarify something. I use a regular pot to melt my butter in. After the butter has melted I proceed with adding the rest of the ingredients in that same pot. I do NOT get a separate bowl for mixing in. After all the ingredients are mixed in the pot I pour the batter into a baking pan. I do NOT mix everything in the pan I'm baking it in. I do NOT keep the butter and sugar mixture out when mixing the rest of the ingredients. Hope that helps. 7/24/10 I'd change the recipe if I could, but I can't figure out how, so I'll mention here that the normal baking time is 30 minutes. I put 30-40 minutes in the directions because it takes longer when you use whole wheat flour, which I often do. I'm guessing those who complain about it being dry are just seeing the "cook time - 40 minutes" at the top and overbaking it. 3/16/11 I never claimed this was a Southern recipe & couldn't figure out why some reviews pointed out that it wasn't. Evidently Allrecipes put it in that category. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very good recipe though I tweaked it a bit. I reduced the sugar a little, but think it would be fine for the full amount if you like your cornbread a little sweet. I used powdered buttermilk and water and added 2/3 c. fresh yellow corn. In my opinion, the ONLY way to cook cornbread is in a preheated cast iron skillet. It gives it such a wonderful buttery, crisp crust. I greased my 9 in. skillet with vegetable oil and put it in the oven while I assembled the recipe. When the batter was finished, I poured it into the hot skillet. I then baked it for 25 minutes. The result was top notch. Very moist with perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Awesome 5++ stars. To the readers who had dry bread.... 1/4 lb not 1/4 cup butter!!! This might have made a difference if you read it wrong, 1/4 lb is 1/2 cup of butter. Also I put it in my greased preheated iron skillet for 25 min, excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
The recipe is fantastic as written, but after making this recipe a few times I made a few changes. I used Splenda instead of sugar, whole-wheat flour instead of all-purpose, Smart Balance Light instead of butter, and sour skim milk instead of buttermilk. Sounds like a lot of substitutions, but the end result was absolutely delicious, and nearly guilt free! This is the ONLY cornbread recipe that I use, and it comes out wonderful every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
523 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Really good and easy. Tip: if you don't have buttermilk, decrease the milk by 2 tablespoons, and replace with 2 tablespoons lemon juice. It was a little on the sweet side, I will decrease the sugar a bit next time, as I am trying to decrease the sugar in my familys diet. It held together nicely when sliced, a bonus with messy youngsters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made twelve, gorgeous muffins with this recipe and they were not sweet, not dry, and certainly not "cake-like." I don't like too sweet ANYTHING and even tho' I was tempted to reduce the sugar after reading some of the reviews, sheer curiosity led me to prepare the entire recipe, including the amount of sugar, as is. Normally I find that I want honey, butter (or both!) on my cornbread, but not this time. These muffins were buttery, moist, just slightly sweet, hearty and surprisingly flavorful. They baked up nicely with perfectly risen tops at 375 degrees for about 22 minutes. I swear, once again it's the buttermilk - and the butter, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
If you are a southerner and like the non-sweet, buttery-tasting southern style corn bread, this is not for you. But if you like the sweeter, more cakelike cornbread served in New England and other areas, you'll adore this recipe. Try it for breakfast with butter and maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
No true Southerner puts sugar in the cornbread. The secret of Southern cornbread is to heat the fat in a skillet and pour the batter into the hot skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Fabulous! Great flavor and just the right amount of sweet. (I like it sweet!) Like Jiffy mix except it holds together GREAT, and no bitter chemical aftertaste. Just loved this. Also, it was so easy to make, not much more work than a mix anyway! I followed Bethany's advice and mixed it in the pan I baked it in, but it was so hard to be careful to not slop everything out while stirring together to me it is definitely worth one more dish to mix together in a bowl next time! Thanks for a great recipe! I won't be buying those chemically mixes any more! :) (I used 1 c milk and took out 1 TB and added 1 TB apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk, let sit 5 mins, worked great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
My search for the perfect cornbread on this site is over! I've tried Favorite Cornbread, Homesteader Cornbread, and Sweet Cornbread and while all are good, this one is the best. It's got a sweet, cake-like consistency and is very moist. I wouldn't change a thing! I baked it at 350 for 40 minutes until just browned on top. It's perfect with chili or fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States