Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! I use a cast iron skillet and preheat in the oven with my butter in it. After it melts I mix the butter in with my batter mix. Then I put back into the hot cast iron to cook in the oven. Makes the perfect crust every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Thank you for the recipe. I had to make it gluten free. So I substituted 2 Tablespoons potato starch and the balance oat flour for the 1 cup of wheat flour. Turned out awesome. Grandma's recipes are always the best. Even used my Grandma's old cast iron frying pan to bake it. By the way, I detest when people say they changed every ingredient in the recipe and then didn't like it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I didn't get a picture because it was gone so fast. So simple and delicious! I doubled the recipe and baked it in 2, 8in rounds. My kids ate it up like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLBOOTH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
First timé that I made corn bread . This recipe was easy to do. It was very moist. Will make this to go with my next chille dish. Willie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Usé 1\2 tz de azúcar en vez de 2\3 tz,y hornee en el microondas en molde de cupcakes individuales, hornee cada bizcochito por 1:00 minuto, la receta es excelente pero me gustaría qué quedara más esponjosa. (= I used 1 \ 2 cup of sugar instead of 2 \ 3 cup, and bake in the microwave in individual mold cupcakes, bake each Bizcochito by minute 1:00, the recipe is excellent but I would do remain more fluffy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made it as per the recipe, making buttermilk substitute with milk and vinegar. The family really enjoyed it. I may try the cast iron skillet method next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This cornbread is amazing! It was fluffy and cake-like and delicious. I added some corn kernels to the mixture but kept the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Thanks for your great recipe!!! I am making chicken chili in the crock pot for dinner tonight. I knew I had to make this to accompany it. I have made this once before and absolutely think it to be the best sweet cornbread recipe I have ever made! I can't wait to eat dinner tonight! I make it just as stated; no changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is my favorite cornbread recipe. I always use the whole wheat flour. Making 2 pans today; one for dinner with 10 bean soup and one to freeze..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
GREAT recipe. Followed to a tee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States