Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious! Hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! Perfect exactly as it is, no changes for me and my bunch. I love a sweeter cornbread and the texture is wonderful, no dry cornbread for this gal. The hubs told the kids it was just like what his grandma used to make esp baking it in the cast iron skillet. Thank you so much for sharing it is now the ONLY recipe I use! ~the happy cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious!! Cooked in my cast iron pan, like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerlo, New York, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I love this recipe. I live in the south, and for those who scowl at this recipe for having sugar in it, because no true southerner would add sugar to cornbread, I have this to say. I will take this way of making cornbread over the non-sugar way any day. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious! I've been looking for quite some time for a perfect corn bread for my taste. They are either too crumbly, dry or not sweet enough for me. I like a moist cornbread with some sweetness to it. I've been married for 34 years and my husband has never liked cornbread. I've tried dozens of recipes over the years. I always just make it for myself because he refuses to eat it. I made a Tex-Mex Chicken casserole the other night and wanted some cornbread to go with it. I thought I would try this recipe. Well, I couldn't believe my ears when my husband not only ate a piece, but asked for seconds. You could have knocked me over. It was moist, held together well and just sweet enough for my taste. My husband even asked me if there was enough left over for tomorrow! He said, this bread is terrific! You can bet this will be the only recipe I will ever use again. Thank you so much for sharing your grandmother's recipe. She is my hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaT
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Best cornbread ever! I made it per instructions & baked it in a cast iron skillet. So amazing. I could eat it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Excellent cornbread turned out very moist and golden brown, my only issue is that I did not have apple butter on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Oh I NEVER write reviews on recipes. After making this corn bread, I feel compelled to register an account to just express how impressed I am!!! This is simply the best tasting corn bread. In fact it has altered my view of how great a piece of corn bread can taste. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Very good, but not amazing. Extremely simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Delicious. Had to make my own buttermilk using a lemon. Six people were over for dinner and most of us are from the south (Texas, Oklahoma, Florida). We all loved this recipe. I'm making again tonight. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States