Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by My3sonsR
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have baked this recipe several times n the only time it wasn't fabulous was the ONE time I forgot to add the baking soda. Otherwise, the recipe is " a la perfecta"! The butter makes it oh so crunchy which my husband ( and myself) loves. And we can NEVER eat just one piece! ?? Cyndi g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
We had a soup night yesterday(http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tim-Perrys-Soup-Creamy-Curry-Cauliflower-and-Broccoli-Soup/?prop31=3)and for some reason I thought of having cornbread with it. I don't often think of cornbread as a dinner side, especially if sweet. But the sweetness complimented the more savory flavours in the soup. I decided to try baking it in a cast iron skillet. 24 minutes later it was ready to eat. Beautiful when served warm. Confession: I accidentally put double the baking soda in the batter but without duplicate ingredients for a do-over, I had to forge ahead. I thought it was doomed to taste soapy and 10" tall but fortunately it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
amazing made exactly by recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory Hartley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I made this recipe to go with some home made soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Perfect perfect perfect every time. The only cornbread recipe I will ever use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
My family loves cornbread with chili, soup...well they even eat leftovers for breakfast with maple syrup! I've always used the Jiffy mix as it used to be so cheap and easy to make but at the store last time I noticed that the mix, which was 3 for a $1.00 for decades I think are now 75 cents each--a real rip off in my opinion. a few nites ago I decided to try homemade cornbread. I always double the recipe (or use 2 boxes) so I doubled this. I've also found reading reviews is one of the best way to try a new recipe so I used one batch worth of sugar, half wheat flour and, as always, added a can of cream style corn (I decrease the milk-and I do it by 'feel' so I can't offer specifics though if you've made corn bread often enough you know how it mixes up and how much liquid you need). I also use a cast iron pan, buttered and heated for my cornbread. This was a superior recipe-one of the simplest and best I've tried from this website. we had cornbread left over and I used it last night in a stuffed acorn squash recipe instead of store bought corn bread stuffing. An excellent addition. I read the 'Southern recipes' for cornbread and they seemed heavier on the fat and more complicated...this West Coast family will stick with Bethany's recipe from now on! Thanks so much for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Loved it, it disappeared in an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, but I think I'll try using whole wheat flour next time. This, by far, is one of the best cornbread I've ever had. It reminds me of cornbread from upstate New York I'd eat as a child. Dangerously delicious, moist and perfectly sweetened. My family could not stop eating it! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
the only cornbread I make anymore. I use half whole wheat and half regular flour, so it is a little denser that way, but still super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McCoy Childs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States