Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
really tasty and easy recipe. had a craving for cornbread and decided to give this a try. usually i would just follow a package mix but had a pack of cornmeal on hand and wanted to try from scratch. really nice flavour and texture. usually when i've made cornbread from a mix it's really dry and doesn't have a lot of flavour. this was nice and moist but still had a bit of a crumbly texture. i admit i used less sugar as i never really had sweet cornbread before and wasn't sure and it was great. this will be my cornbread standby recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Turned out perfect...my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Massengale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I liked this recipe. I thought it would be a tid bit too sweet, but honestly, it is just the right amount of sweetness. I poured the mix in my cupcake pan and had 12 total. I bajed it for 20 minutes. I would not change anything on this recipe. It is good just as is. Now, I will try baking it in my cast iron pan with the suggestions posted by others. I will update on my results! Keeper, keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Made 1xs as listed. Made it 2xs more with only 1/2 c sugar and no problem esp since we like honey butter on the finished product! Very dense and cake like. Nice taste, easy recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Did not change a thing, this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious and addictive. Thank you for sharing. A new favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Weippert

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Tasted great, but they came out really dense. Idk if it's cuz I used a 9x9 pan rather than 8x8 or If it was the recipie/timing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brendan Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made as written. Unbelievably good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Finally I have the best cornbread recipe and all the others will be thrown out. I was lucky enough to have some fresh buttermilk donated by my sisterinlaw who was then lucky enough to enjoy this outstanding cornbread with us. I added 3/4 cup frozen corn (thawed) and I decreased the sugar a little but next time would put even less sugar, that is, unless I substitute some whole wheat which is an excellent idea. Good to know it freezes well too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
EXCELLENT! This is IT -- I love, love, love cornbread and am committing to this one forever! My regular AP flour was buggy (!) so I used my self-rising flour even though I'd already added the baking soda. Also cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Came out perfectly after 25 minutes in the oven, and I'm SUPER excited for this new go-to recipe! THANK YOU for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States