Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I made this recipe to go with some home made soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Perfect perfect perfect every time. The only cornbread recipe I will ever use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
My family loves cornbread with chili, soup...well they even eat leftovers for breakfast with maple syrup! I've always used the Jiffy mix as it used to be so cheap and easy to make but at the store last time I noticed that the mix, which was 3 for a $1.00 for decades I think are now 75 cents each--a real rip off in my opinion. a few nites ago I decided to try homemade cornbread. I always double the recipe (or use 2 boxes) so I doubled this. I've also found reading reviews is one of the best way to try a new recipe so I used one batch worth of sugar, half wheat flour and, as always, added a can of cream style corn (I decrease the milk-and I do it by 'feel' so I can't offer specifics though if you've made corn bread often enough you know how it mixes up and how much liquid you need). I also use a cast iron pan, buttered and heated for my cornbread. This was a superior recipe-one of the simplest and best I've tried from this website. we had cornbread left over and I used it last night in a stuffed acorn squash recipe instead of store bought corn bread stuffing. An excellent addition. I read the 'Southern recipes' for cornbread and they seemed heavier on the fat and more complicated...this West Coast family will stick with Bethany's recipe from now on! Thanks so much for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Loved it, it disappeared in an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, but I think I'll try using whole wheat flour next time. This, by far, is one of the best cornbread I've ever had. It reminds me of cornbread from upstate New York I'd eat as a child. Dangerously delicious, moist and perfectly sweetened. My family could not stop eating it! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
the only cornbread I make anymore. I use half whole wheat and half regular flour, so it is a little denser that way, but still super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McCoy Childs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My his recipe is amazing and easy, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Yummo! This recipe is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kpbella
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My boyfriend has been asking for cornbread to go with my homemade chili for months. I've never made it before so I was SO happy to have found this recipe & saw all the great reviews. Well...now its my turn to add to these reviews: WOW!!!! The absolute best cornbread I've ever had...and I MADE IT! Followed the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change a THING! I may cut back on sugar just a tad but its not really necessary. Can't WAIT to make it again and think I'll try it in a skillet. Oh and the boyfriend LOVED it too!! Thank youuuu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is a great receipe. Bakes up well as muffins. I used large liners, and got 9 muffins. These were baked just right after 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States