Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe! It has become my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Definitely a keeper!! I did reduce the sugar to a mounded 1/2 C and increased the cornmeal slightly while equally reducing the amount of flour. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the vinegar and milk trick. I also baked it in a cast iron skillet. Awesome cornbread, didn't crumble, was moist and delicious! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
The best I've ever had-yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made it just like the recipe said and it was wonderful. Not too sweet & very moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Winning. My grandfather who claims to make the best cornbread is gonna be mad if I make this around him. My near two year old daughter put one bit in her mouth looked at me and said ummm Shaking her head up and down. A go to recipe for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose Marie
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I was out of milk for my regular cornbread recipe, but had buttermilk. Ran across this one, decided to give it a try. This cornbread is SO good ! The only thing I did differently is my 2 tsp. baking powder was already added to the dry mixture, but added the baking soda too. Another thing I did; when the butter was fully melted in my Iron Skillet, I poured it into batter, returning to Hot pan. This is the absolutely the best cornbread I've ever made, and here's my picture of it. Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is hands down the best corn bread recipe I've ever tried. So delicious and fluffy, and if you don't like it sweet, then cut down a bit on the sugar. This is the second time I've made it in as many days ~. It's a hit with the hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I followed the directions, and it turned out perfectly. Moist, slightly sweet, and delicious. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear4965

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this cornbread yesterday.....it wasn't as moist as I had hoped, put oven 5 degrees less than specified due to my oven being very hot - also, cornbread by nature isn't the most moist bread to begin with. Wasn't too sweet at all - was expecting it to be super sweet because of the comments - the sweetness was perfect. Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
So moist and delish so good with chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States