Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is an awesome recipe. Simple to follow, and gets very consistent results. I'm not from the South so I don't have a problem with it being sweet. I live in Saudi Arabia, so I substitute the buttermilk with what they call "Laban," a type of yogurt-like drink. I also use raw sugar in place of white sugar, but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Wow! I am impressed. We have significant dietary restrictions in our family, so I tweaked the recipe significantly, yet it still came out fabulous! I subbed rice milk+lemon juice for the buttermilk, applesauce for the sugar, and spelt for the flour. Wow! Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was Amazingly tasty and easy! We had 2 different cornbreads and the other got thrown out (couldn't compete) and this one went so fast this past weekend that there wasn't a photo opportunity. Will be making again tonight for dinner because I'm totally craving it. No changes and substitutes needed. Perfect Recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Very sweet and I love it! My southern friends and family usually down care for the sweetness of it but I think it's the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made into muffins. I ended up baking them for about 17 min. I was out of cornmeal so I used polenta, and the texture came out a little odd. But the flavor was delicious, and not too sweet like I originally feared when I first read the recipe. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I dumped it all in one bowl and baked them in muffin tins at 400F for 16 minutes. Came out perfectly soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Excellent recipe. I knew 2/3 cup sugar would be too sweet for my taste so I cut the sugar in half. Also I added one finely diced jalapeno pepper, plus diced red onion. Best cornbread I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was really good! I've never made cornbread before but this was exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly. Would definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
great recipe very easy can add fresh fruit family and friends love love love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Followed the recipe with the exception of using regular milk + 2TBL lemon juice = awesome. The best cornbread I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,001) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States