Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
One of the best cornbread recipe I tried! Just remember to beat the eggs in quickly or temper the eggs - if you don't pay attention or are too slow about it, the eggs can cook in the heat :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Holy crimeny, this recipe is good! I made buttermilk with milk and lemon juice since I didn't have the "real deal" but beyond that, followed the recipe exactly. Our oven runs a bit cool so it also took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but it was SO good! Wow! The top formed a beautiful golden crust, which was perfect, and it was the most moist cornbread I've ever had, as well as the sweetest. I ate it without honey or even butter, even cold a day later, and it was still amazing. This is my new "go to" cornbread recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Carney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Just made this tonight, and wow... moist, delicious, and it baked up exactly as described by Bethany. I did 2 things different: I cut the sugar in half, mostly becuase I'm not a fan of really sweet things ( which is just a matter of taste) and greased the pan with bacon grease and floured it well. That was a tip from another reviewer... thank you for that tip! Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, made sure the oven was preheated, and checked it at 30 min. I ended up leaving it in about 4 min more to brown the top a bit more, and it came out perfect. Great combination of ingredients, and good clear instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I agree with Kate. No true Southern would Ever add sugar to cornbread. I tweaked it by frying up bacon in my cast iron skillet, used the bacon grease to grease the pan, continued on in a bowl with rest of recipe ( eliminating sugar) poured that into the skillet and baked for 45 mins. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
the texture was wonderful. a little too sweet, so will cut that down next time. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Outstanding recipe, and very easy. I use whole wheat flour, cut the butter to 1/3 cup, and the sugar to 1/2 cup. My family has no idea I cut calories. Excellent recipe they love to know I have it on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I doubled the recipe except for reduced sugar to 1 cup, and used a 9" x 13" stoneware. Baked at 400° for 30 minutes. Took to a chili potluck and it was a huge hit. It is sweet, and I may reduce sugar more next time. The buttermilk and melted butter add good moisture, unlike many cornbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Tried this recipe today and used the whole wheat flour. The cornbread had a nice crunch but was most and flavorful. I had all the ingredients except the buttermilk so I did what my mom use to do. I added 1 TBS. of white vinegar into my 1-cup measuring cup, filled it the rest of the way with 1% milk, stirred, and let it sit for 5 minutes while I put the rest of the ingredients together. It worked like a charm and I baked it for 35 minutes and it turned out perfect. My brother had the cornbread with the meal and he even commented how good it tasted. That really made my day because he is a very finicky eater and very difficult to cook for. Believe me...this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Wonderful, moist bread with fantastic rich color. Followed recipe exactly for gorgeous results. Kids and husband adored this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Confession time - I changed exactly half of the ingredients in the recipe. When I got out my cornmeal, I found that the bugs had been chomping on it. I ended up using quick grits. I then discovered I was out of buttermilk and white sugar. Sub cider vinegar + milk and honey. I then decided the chef's suggestion to sub whole wheat was a good one. Usually, I don't like to rate a recipe unless I've made it the way it was intended to be. However, I want myself to know that I liked this recipe the next time I make it! It was great! I'm sure it would be great the way it was written. I would probably cut the sugar down just a smidge, but still, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States