Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Great recipe. I cut the sugar in half and it is still real sweet. I also make this in my Belgian waffle maker or corn dog maker. It makes it better for dipping. It also makes it easier to freeze. I made a double batch the first time and my son walked by me with six pieces on a plate and told me I need to make more corn bread. thank you for providing the perfect recipe. If you don't have buttermilk just sour the milk with lemon juice or vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I make this every time I make chili. The only thing I add is chopped jalapenos. Otherwise it's perfect just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made this tonight and my family loved it. I just melted the butter in a glass mixing bowl in the microwave, then mixed everything in that. I used half cup whole wheat flour and half cup regular flour. We don't like our cornbread sweet so I only used 1/4 cup sugar. My son inhaled this bread! It was pretty soft, even with the whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I used about 1/4 cup of sugar rather than the 2/3 cup it called for and that made it sweet enough for me. I don't like cornbread that is too sweet or cake-like; I prefer a little more of a salty, cornmeal-y taste in the balance. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. My cornbread turned out just a little crumbly although really not too dry. It was good but I feel that I need to tweak the recipe some to suit my personal taste and expectations. Thanks for sharing your family's recipe, Bethany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
The only thing I changed was I used 1 1/2 c corn meal and 1/2 c flour. It turned out great in flavor. Unfortunately, I did not cook the first batch long enough. But, the husband didn't care! He really liked it, as did I. I, too, used my little iron skillet to bake this. Makes a great crust. I will make this again and make sure to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Tipps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Easy to make. Moist and delicious, my coworkers loved it more than I did and I thought it was delicious. I did cut back on the sugar a little but otherwise followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly with the exception of I used 1/2 cup splenda in place of the sugar. I also poured into a hot,greased cast iron frying pan to bake. Moist and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My wife's family makes everything from scratch and it's all amazing. This is as amazing! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This recipe was really good and easy! I made it just as the recipe was written (following the author's updates in her review). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This recipe is simply yummy. I did make adjustments; I reduced the butter and used cream instead of buttermilk but still it is good. No more Boxed Jiffy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 4,023) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States