Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It's a great recipe, just a little too sweet for my tastes. Everything else about it is wonderful--it's not cakey. It has the perfect amount of coarseness and the perfect amount of moisture. Next time I'll probably just reduce the sugar a little bit. Update: I made it again and I didn't have enough butter so I used half butter and half olive oil (less a tablespoon)--in other words 4 tbsp butter/3 tbsp olive oil. Turned out perfectly and maybe even better. Also, be careful. If your pan is too hot after melting the butter, your egg will start to cook a little bit. This happened to me the 2nd time around because I was careless and there were some pretty solid pieces of egg white. I cooked it anyway and it was fine, but I could see a few pieces here and there in the finished product. Didn't affect the taste at all, though. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, other than added white vinegar to whole milk bc I didn't have buttermilk. It was the best cornbread I've made. It was not too sweet and so moist! It was so easy I will never purchase box mix again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I just made some homemade chili and wanted a great corn bread recipe to go with it and this one was perfect. Not to sweet and not to salty, it came out perfectly. And, thank's to all for their comments, I like to review and try out some of the tweaks, which made the recipe come out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Mouthwatering and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Followed the directions to the "t". Only changing the sugar to a half cup ........and only by error with measuring cups.... But it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is delicious and easy! It is very moist, not as crumbly and dry as the boxed mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe was so easy to prepare and it turned out great. I did not have any buttermilk on hand so I substituted one cup of 2% milk and added one Tablespoon of vinegar. I let that stand while I measured the other ingredients. Many reviewers have mentioned that sugar should not be added to "real" cornbread. I thought this had a nice sweetness. I did not add honey or butter when I ate it. I did not think this was overly sweet. I'm happy that I tried the recipe. And I thank Bethany for sharing her grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We love this recipe just as it is. Thank you so much for taking the time to share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The recipe is perfect as it is. I'm always amazed by people who are so critical and change it up to something completely different- and brag about how wonderful "their version" is. Great recipe Bethany! I'll get a lot of use out of this recipe. It's such a nice extra to so many dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I've made this numerous times. Very easy + very delicious. I've even baked it in a cast iron pan that I preheat in the oven + just before I add the batter + grease it up good with butter. It gives it a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States