Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This cornbread is amazing! I must admit, up until now I've never made a cornbread other than that on the cornmeal can. What a mistake! What a difference! My kids gobbled it up before even tasting any of their other food. It came out moist and fluffy. Beautiful color. Perfect! I didn't change a thing, followed the recipe exactly. I think it *might* be a bit sweet for some people, but we loved it the way it is. Okay, I did change one thing. I didn't use a pot to melt the butter, to be honest, I didn't see the point in dirtying up a pot just to melt butter. I used a large glass bowl and melted the butter in the microwave, and then mixed everything else in right in that same bowl. Most of my pots are hand wash, and the glass bowl I can just pop in the dishwasher. Anyway, this is by far the best cornbread I've ever had. And I don't care what "true southerners" do with their cornbread, this one's delicious. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I just made this... OMG! so moist, sweet but not to sweet. My family loved these! Very well done BETHANYWEATHERSBY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by totalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Ok, I like to pick recipes that are 4-5 stars because they are good...except this one! I suppose there is a first time for everything. I agree with some other reviews. It is way too sweet and more like corn cake. I won't make this again. I wish I hadn't doubled the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
So good - I too will stop searching for a good cornbread recipe! I used gluten-free flour, and, miracle of miracles, these little babies rose and were spongy and golden! I made 6 oversize muffins (you know, the ones in the silicone muffin mold) and 12 mini-muffins. The little ones needed 16 minutes, and the bigger ones took 23 minutes. So perfect, even the baby gobbled them up. Thanks - must be the buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Southern Belle
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
God bless you for sharing this recipe. I'm a southern cook and a pretty darn good one if I might add. I know my way around a kitchen, and so does your grandmother. This is hands down the best cornbread that I've ever eaten. It actually rivals the cornbread that I've had in restaurants. The only adjustment that I made was that I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. That was just the right amount of sweetness for me. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiger
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I loved the recipe! My mom never quite had measurements down, but we definitely make "southern cornbread" this way. My fiancé is very picky and if it doesn't taste like his mom's he doesn't like it. He said it was better. He doesn't know I had a little cheat sheet. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was insanely yummy and moist. I mixed the whole thing on the stove in the baking pan over a low flame and added half a can of creamed corn. I then baked as instructed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Corn bread came out awesome! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetsfiend
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Just added this to my faves!! Added one can of drained corn and about 1/3C of light Mexican cheese blend. Also, decreased the sugar to 1/4C (mom doesn't care for sweet cornbread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe... wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States