Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Outstanding recipe, and very easy. I use whole wheat flour, cut the butter to 1/3 cup, and the sugar to 1/2 cup. My family has no idea I cut calories. Excellent recipe they love to know I have it on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I doubled the recipe except for reduced sugar to 1 cup, and used a 9" x 13" stoneware. Baked at 400° for 30 minutes. Took to a chili potluck and it was a huge hit. It is sweet, and I may reduce sugar more next time. The buttermilk and melted butter add good moisture, unlike many cornbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Tried this recipe today and used the whole wheat flour. The cornbread had a nice crunch but was most and flavorful. I had all the ingredients except the buttermilk so I did what my mom use to do. I added 1 TBS. of white vinegar into my 1-cup measuring cup, filled it the rest of the way with 1% milk, stirred, and let it sit for 5 minutes while I put the rest of the ingredients together. It worked like a charm and I baked it for 35 minutes and it turned out perfect. My brother had the cornbread with the meal and he even commented how good it tasted. That really made my day because he is a very finicky eater and very difficult to cook for. Believe me...this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Wonderful, moist bread with fantastic rich color. Followed recipe exactly for gorgeous results. Kids and husband adored this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Confession time - I changed exactly half of the ingredients in the recipe. When I got out my cornmeal, I found that the bugs had been chomping on it. I ended up using quick grits. I then discovered I was out of buttermilk and white sugar. Sub cider vinegar + milk and honey. I then decided the chef's suggestion to sub whole wheat was a good one. Usually, I don't like to rate a recipe unless I've made it the way it was intended to be. However, I want myself to know that I liked this recipe the next time I make it! It was great! I'm sure it would be great the way it was written. I would probably cut the sugar down just a smidge, but still, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I must add another 5 star rating! This is a tasty cornbread that is easy to spread butter on without crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
My family loves this recipe! The only difference was I didn't use a skillet just used a bowl and melted it in the microwave. Also with the milk I use regular plus 1 tablespoon of vinegar. I've been making this recipe for sometime. Tonight I changed the recipe some so my daughter (who is allergic to milk) could have some. I used soy butter and rice milk with vinegar. Was still really good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Super moist, not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
My new cornbread recipe.. my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,025) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States