Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was really good! I've never made cornbread before but this was exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly. Would definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
great recipe very easy can add fresh fruit family and friends love love love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Followed the recipe with the exception of using regular milk + 2TBL lemon juice = awesome. The best cornbread I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Hello everyone,I have just finished baking and have to say ..that It has turned out great ! Thank you for the recipe ! It was a great help :-) I absolutely recommend you to bake this cornbread ,no worries just follow the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
One of the best cornbread recipe I tried! Just remember to beat the eggs in quickly or temper the eggs - if you don't pay attention or are too slow about it, the eggs can cook in the heat :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Holy crimeny, this recipe is good! I made buttermilk with milk and lemon juice since I didn't have the "real deal" but beyond that, followed the recipe exactly. Our oven runs a bit cool so it also took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but it was SO good! Wow! The top formed a beautiful golden crust, which was perfect, and it was the most moist cornbread I've ever had, as well as the sweetest. I ate it without honey or even butter, even cold a day later, and it was still amazing. This is my new "go to" cornbread recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Carney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Just made this tonight, and wow... moist, delicious, and it baked up exactly as described by Bethany. I did 2 things different: I cut the sugar in half, mostly becuase I'm not a fan of really sweet things ( which is just a matter of taste) and greased the pan with bacon grease and floured it well. That was a tip from another reviewer... thank you for that tip! Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, made sure the oven was preheated, and checked it at 30 min. I ended up leaving it in about 4 min more to brown the top a bit more, and it came out perfect. Great combination of ingredients, and good clear instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I tweaked it by frying up bacon in my cast iron skillet, used the bacon grease to grease the pan, continued on in a bowl with rest of recipe ( eliminating sugar) poured that into the skillet and baked for 45 mins. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
the texture was wonderful. a little too sweet, so will cut that down next time. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Outstanding recipe, and very easy. I use whole wheat flour, cut the butter to 1/3 cup, and the sugar to 1/2 cup. My family has no idea I cut calories. Excellent recipe they love to know I have it on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States